Home
Cricket
IPL 2024 Eliminator heats up as umpiring howler saves Dinesh Karthik

IPL 2024 Eliminator heats up as umpiring howler saves Dinesh Karthik

Despite Dinesh Karthik failing with a score of 11 off 13, RCB posted up 172 runs in the first innings of

The high-voltage Eliminator clash between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru witnessed a dramatic turn of events when a controversial umpiring decision went against RR. Dinesh Karthik, the in-form batsman for RCB, was adjudged out LBW by the on-field umpire after a delivery from Avesh Khan.

What exactly happened for Karthik and RR?

Following this, Karthik went upstairs for a review. After on field umpire KN Anantha Padmanabhan raised his finger, replays, however, showed a glimmer of hope for the Royals. The ball appeared to be going down leg and might have brushed the pad before hitting the bat. There appeared to be a clear gap between the bat and the ball, with the sound suggesting bat on pad. The Rajasthan Royals dugout erupted in bewilderment, convinced it was a clear case of out.

However, much to the dismay of RR, third umpire Anil Choudhary ruled in against the favor of the on-field decision, deeming it bat hitting the ball.

Experts and pundits were quick to voice their dissent. The decision by Chaudhary was widely condemned as incorrect. The Royals’ frustration was evident, with coach Kumar Sangakkara even confronting the match referee to express his disagreement.

Follow
Share

Editors pick

Shubman Gill's India to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1, Jaiswal & Samson to join after T20 World Cup ends
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?