IPL 2024: 3 players who can become Delhi Capitals captain if Rishabh Pant is still injured?

IPL 2024: 3 players who can become Delhi Capitals captain if Rishabh Pant is still injured?

Pant has been out of action since December, 2022.

Rishabh Pant is set to return to cricket after being out of action since his accident. The wicketkeeper batter has been making a slow and steady recovery to full fitness for the last 12 months. With the announcement of his return for the Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2024, some questions are bound to be raised.

Will he be fit for international cricket? Will he keep the wicket or field? No one knows the answers to these questions right now. For all we know, Rishabh Pant might play as an impact sub in IPL 2024.

With uncertainty among fans regarding his fitness, now might be the right time to speculate who will lead the franchise if Pant misses out. So, here are 3 players who can become Delhi Capitals captain in the IPL 2024:

3 players who can become Delhi Capitals captain if Rishabh Pant is still injured

PlayerRoleIPL Captaincy Record
David WarnerBatter83 matches
Axar PatelAll-rounder0 matches
Mitchell MarshAll-rounder0 matches

David Warner

The opener, who recently retired from Test cricket, is an experienced IPL campaigner. Warner is the 5th most-capped skipper in the league and has an IPL title under her belt as skipper. He has also led the Delhi Capitals in 16 matches, winning just five of them.

Axar Patel

The spin-bowling all-rounder was DC’s MVP last season. With Pant ruled out last year, some thought Axar might get the nod to lead them. However, Warner piped him. He was the team’s second-highest run-scorer and wicket-taker in 2023 and could helm the leadership role after the team’s lackluster performance.

Mitchell Marsh

Some might question this pick, but Marsh has been one of the best white-ball batters in the last couple of years. The all-rounder had a poor time with the bat last year but was the Delhi Capitals’ highest wicket-taker last season. Given that he’s a sure shot starter in the XI, his leading the side won’t be a bad decision.

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2024

Rishabh Pant, Pravin Dubey, David Warner, Vicky Ostwal, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, Abishek Porel, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Lungi Ngidi, Lalit Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Mitchell Marsh, Ishant Sharma, Yash Dhull, Mukesh Kumar, Harry Brook, Tristan Sttubs, Ricky Bhui, Kumar Kushagra, Rasikh Dar, Jhye Richardson, Sumit Kumar, Shai Hope, Swastik Chhikara.


Editors pick

Stop hiding behind big names, selectors must take brave calls for T20 World Cup success
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace Teams with the most dropped catches in IPL 2024 IPL Teams Special Jersey Controversy, thy name is Pandya Virat-Rohit bromance moments