Home
Cricket
INDW vs AUSW: Why Pooja Vastrakar didn’t bowl despite a chance to complete a fifer?

INDW vs AUSW: Why Pooja Vastrakar didn’t bowl despite a chance to complete a fifer?

INDW vs AUSW: Pooja Vastrakar had a chance to register her maiden 5-wicket haul in international cricket but she wasn't allowed to bowl. Here's why.

Indian women’s pacer Pooja Vastrakar starred as her 4-wicket haul helped India Women bundle out Australia for 219 runs on Day 1 of the INDW vs AUSW one-off Test at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday.

The 24-year-old bowled brilliantly to keep Australia on the backfoot throughout the day. However, Vastrakar had a chance to register her maiden 5-wicket haul in international cricket but the MCC rules prevented her from trying to do so.

With Australia 9 down, Vastrakar was ready to return to for a new spell to try and claim her fifth wicket. However, since the pacer was off the field for 20 minutes during the session, she was not allowed to bowl till 3.26pm IST.

Also Read

IND vs AUS Test: Harmanpreet Kaur and Co. put Australia on ropes after Day 1

ICC charges Usman Khawaja for his silent protest in AUS vs PAK 1st Test

According to MCC rule 24.2.2.3, “Player shall not be permitted to bowl, until having been back on the field of play for a period of time known as Penalty time”.

Sneh Rana them claimed the final wicket to finish the Australia innings.

Tahila McGrath (50 off 56 balls) was the top scorer for Australia.

Follow
Share

Editors pick

Rain threat looms large on all T20 World Cup Super 8 clashes in West Indies
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?