India cricket team head coaches so far

India cricket team head coaches so far

As Rahul Dravid's tenure as the Indian cricket team coach is about to end, here is the complete list of head coaches.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is currently searching for a new head coach for the Indian Men’s cricket team as Rahul Dravid’s tenure is set to expire in June. Dravid initially joined the Indian team in November 2021 on a two-year contract, which was later extended for the ODI World Cup 2024. As India looks for its 27th head coach, here is the full list of Indian cricket team coaches over the years.

India’s first head coach was appointed in 1971, with Keki Tarapore taking on the responsibility to groom the India cricket team.

PR Man made history by becoming the first manager to lead Team India to an ICC World Cup title. Though not a coach, he served in that role as well.

By 1992, India adopted a policy of granting long contracts to national team coaches rather than appointing them for specific tours. Interim managers like Chandu Borde and Bishan Singh Bedi were replaced under this new approach, resulting in national team coaches such as Ajit Wadekar, Sandeep Patil, Madan Lal, and others being brought in with more extended contracts.

Interestingly, Kapil Dev also served as a coach for a short period of time. He resigned after Manoj Prabhakar alleged that he had tried to bribe him during a series in 1994.

List of Indian cricket team coaches

1Keki Tarapore1971India
2Hemu Adhikari1971-74India
3Gulabrai Ramchand1975India
4Datta Gaekwad1978India
5Salim Durrani1980-81India
6Ashok Mankad1982India
7PR Man Singh (manager) 1983-87India
8Chandu Borde1988India
9Bishan Singh Bedi1990-91India
10Abbas Ali Baig1991-92India
11Ajit Wadekar1992-96India
12Sandeep Patil1996India
13Madan Lal1996-97India
14Anshuman Gaekwad1997-99India
15Kapil Dev1999-2000India
16John Wright2000-05New Zealand
17Greg Chappell2005-07Australia
18Ravi Shastri (Interim)2007India
19Lalchand Rajput2007-08India
20Gary Kirsten2008-11South Africa
21Duncan Fletcher2011-15Zimbabwe
22Sanjay Bangar (Interim)2016India
23Anil Kumble2016-17India
24Sanjay Bangar (Interim)2017India
25Ravi Shastri2017-21India
26Rahul Dravid2021-India

Most Successful Indian coaches

South African Gary Kirsten is considered the most successful Indian coach. Under his coaching, India won the ODI World Cup and went on to become the number one team in Tests.

Rahul Dravid as India’s coach

Following his success in leading India’s U-19 team to the World Cup title in 2018, Dravid was appointed as the coach of the senior cricket team. Under his mentorship, India reached the ODI World Cup 2024 final and also became the number one team in both ODIs and Tests.


Editors pick

Predicted India Playing XI: Kuldeep to return, Siraj out of IND vs AFG?
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?