Paris 2024

Debutants Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma & Dhruv Jurel deliver a flop show in IND vs ZIM 1st T20I

Debutants Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma & Dhruv Jurel deliver a flop show in IND vs ZIM 1st T20I

Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, and Abhishek Sharma failed to leave an impression against Zimbabwe in the first T20, scoring only 8 runs combined.

The first T20I between India and Zimbabwe witnessed a flop show from the Indian batters. 

Three youngsters—Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, and Dhruv Jurel—made their debut for team India at Harare Sports Club on Saturday. 

However, their debuts were not fairytale starts, as all three failed to capitalise on the opportunity with the bat.

Abhishek went out on duck

Abhishek Sharma, who opened the innings for India, was dismissed for a golden duck. The left-handed batsman, playing his first-ever international match, was unfortunate to be caught by Masakadza in the deep backward square leg. 

Parag’s flop show

Riyan Parag, another exciting young talent, failed to leave his mark. After a great show at the IPL, he could only manage a score of 2 runs on 3 balls in his first match for India. He was caught at mid-off. 

Having impressed in the U-19 World Cup and the recently concluded IPL season with 573 runs, Parag’s dismissal came as a big disappointment for Team India. 

More from Cricket

Dhruv failed to capitalise 

Dhruv Jurel, the only one among the three with prior international experience (having played Tests against England earlier this year), also failed to make a mark. Jurel, who was slotted into the middle order, scored just 6 runs. 

The series against Zimbabwe presents a valuable opportunity for these young players to learn from their experiences and bounce back stronger in upcoming matches.


Editors pick

India squad for Sri Lanka: Surya pips fragile Hardik for T20I captaincy, Rohit-Kohli return in ODIs
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?