DC vs LSG: Arshad’s 50 goes in vain Lucknow lose by 19 runs

DC vs LSG: Arshad’s 50 goes in vain Lucknow lose by 19 runs

A loss to LSG will knock DC out of IPL 2024 but they will be confident with return of captain Rishabh Pant after serving suspension.

DC vs LSG Live Updates: Both the teams, despite the result are still in contention for a playoffs berth. LSG lost by 19 runs, but there’s a lot to play for. Arshad Khan was brilliant with his maiden fifty, but it wasn’t just enough on the day.

So as things stand now, after the first innings, Delhi Capitals have ended with 208/4. Despite a slow start, Abhishek Porel and Tristan Stubbs’ fifties ensured that the hosts crossed the 200-run mark.

It’s match 64 in IPL 2024 and with just 6 matches left in the league stage, it is last chance saloon for Delhi Capitals. While Rishabh Pant’s return will boost the team after serving suspension, they need everything to fall in place against a wounded Lucknow Super Giants. KL Rahul is under scanner after their disastrous loss to Sunrisers Hyderabad. But LSG are still in the race and two wins will see them through to the IPL 2024 Playoffs.

Who won yesterday’s match?

After setting a target of 209 runs, DC won the match against LSG by 19 runs. With this Delhi end the league stages with 14 points, on the fifth spot. But all is not over for them as if CSK lose big, they can still make it.

DC vs LSG Live Score

Delhi vs Lucknow Live Updates


A convincing win is not enough for Delhi to progress to the playoffs. They won the match by 19 runs. Arshad remains unbeaten at 58 from 33. LSG end at 189/9.

Arshad, 50

What is happening here. Arshad has slammed a fifty in only 25 deliveries. LSG need 29 from last two overs. It is 180/8 in 18 overs.

Too little, too late

Arshad is showing glimpses of brilliance here. He is hitting the ball a fair distance. The match is all bit over. It is 156/7 in 16.2 overs.


Kuldeep has his first wicket now. He gets the wicket of Krunal Pandya here as LSG 134/7. Still 75 needed off 31 deliveries.

All but over

At this stage, it looks like there isn’t anything left in the match. After 14 overs it is 128/6.

Nicky P is out

Axar plucks a catch out of nowhere. Pooran is out for 61 from 27 only as LSG 101/6.

Pooran, God level

Pooran is the lone Lucknow batsman who has looked comfortable batting. In fact, he is 60 off 25 deliveries. It is 101/5 in 11 overs.

Now Stubbs

Can you believe this. Now Stubbs has a wicket and Badoni departs. They are 73/5 in 8 overs.

That Kind of day

LSG 67/4 in 6.4 overs


Ishant has his third. This time he traps Deepak Hooda in front. Pooran is maybe the last hope. LSG 44/4.


Another one. Massive collapse for LSG as now Stoinis is stumped on the bowling on Axar. It is 28/3.


There you go. Another one bites the dust as Ishant bags his second. He gets de Kock this time as LSG 24/2.


What has Rahul done here. Ishant bowls a slower one and a casual shot by the skipper sees him depart early. It was a stunning catch by Mukesh too. LSG 7/1.

Innings ends

There you go. The innings comes to an end and Stubbs ends with 57 from 25 as DC reach 208/4. This is a good total at the end.

2 overs left

Tristan Stubbs is doing his best to take DC over 200. DC 175/4 in 18 overs.


Another one-handed shot by Pant and he is caught by Hooda in the deep as DC slip further into trouble. DC 158/4 in 16.2 overs.

Run-rate drops

The run rate has dropped considerably here ever since Porel got out. Pant is still there but DC are 136/5 in 15 overs.

LSG spinners keep it tight

As Rishabh Pant (16*) and Tristan Stubbs (3*) look to break the shackles, LSG spinners keep it tight. DC are 121/3 after 13 overs.

Another one

Now Porel is a victim of a brilliant catch. DC 113/ as Porel is out for 58 from 33.


Hope is out. But that’s not the talking point. But the catch by skipper Rahul is. What a stunner. He drops in the first go, but gives a full stretch dive to catch it. DC 94/2 in 8.4.


Porel has a fifty in only 21 deliveries. Surprise, surprise. Shai Hope has 21 in same no. of deliveries. DC 84/1.

Abhishek Porel in punishing mood

Abhishek Porel has upped the ante in the last couple of overs here. He is dealing in fours and sixes. Another four, and 17 runs come from the over. It is 73/1.

Slow start

It has been a slow start so far by the DC team. They seem to be struggling for runs at the moment as the score moves to 14/1 after 2 overs.


Jake Fraser is out in the first over itself. Naveen takes a good catch as Arshad gets the first wicket. It is 2/1.

Match starts

Left arm pacer Arshad Khan starts for Delhi here. He is getting some swing straight up. Let’s see what happens.


Abishek Porel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Gulbadin Naib, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed


KL Rahul(w/c), Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan

Rahul to bowl

LSG has won the toss and opted to bowl first here. More importantly, he is still LSG skipper.

Toss time

It is time for toss now. Both teams will look to win toss and opt to bat now.

Can LSG bounce back?

After the massacre in Hyderabad, morale will be down for KL Rahul & Co. Captain Rahul was under fire for his performance as Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma shattered records to win the match within 10 overs.

Do-or-die for DC

After a hammering loss in Bengaluru, Delhi Capitals will look to win their last match to keep their faint hopes alive. A loss will officially eliminate them but a win won’t guarantee them a spot. Instead, DC will have to depend on the CSK vs RCB result as well.

Lucknow Super Giants Squad

KL Rahul(w/c), Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Ashton Turner, Manimaran Siddharth, Amit Mishra, Devdutt Padikkal, Arshin Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan, Kyle Mayers, Matt Henry, Prerak Mankad, Arshad Khan, Shamar Joseph

Delhi Capitals Squad

David Warner, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Kumar Kushagra, Axar Patel, Tristan Stubbs, Rasikh Dar Salam, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Praveen Dubey, Sumit Kumar, Ricky Bhui, Vicky Ostwal, Gulbadin Naib, Lalit Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Lizaad Williams, Jhye Richardson, Anrich Nortje, Yash Dhull, Swastik Chikara


Editors pick

T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli, Sanju Samson & Siraj could miss India's only warm-up
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?