Charting Karnataka’s downfall in Ranji Trophy since Vinay Kumar’s departure

Charting Karnataka’s downfall in Ranji Trophy since Vinay Kumar’s departure

Karnataka has witnessed a downfall in Ranji Trophy ever since Vinay Kumar's exit as skipper and the departure of key players

Karnataka have been going downhill over the last three years in the Ranji Trophy circuit. The team has been faltering ever since the departure of then skipper Vinay Kumar. Karnataka have been knocked out of Ranji Trophy 2024 after a 127-run loss to Vidarbha in Quarterfinal 1. The side last won the Ranji Trophy in the 2014-15 edition.

Tracing Karnataka’s downfall in Ranji Trophy

Under Vinay Kumar’s captaincy, Karnataka went on to record an epic treble. They won the Irani Cup, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Ranji Trophy for two consecutive years (2013-14, 2014-15). And then, the downward spiral began.

It all started in 2019 when Manish Pandey replaced Vinay Kumar as Karnataka skipper. In that season, the Pandey-led side lost to Saurashtra by five wickets in the semi-finals. Saurashtra emerged victorious, with tons from Pujara and Jackson in the 2nd innings. This was still when Kumar was a part of the Karnataka squad, not as a skipper however.

Karnataka’s semi-final jinx continues

In 2020, they lost in the semis once again this time to Bengal. Despite featuring the likes of Karun Nair, KL Rahul, Padikkal, Pandey and more, Karnataka failed to get past the semis. Bengal won the game by 174 runs at the Eden Gardens.

KV Siddharth, who was the highest run-getter for Karnataka in the 2021-22 season, was dropped the following season. He signed up for Goa. And so did Rohan Kadam.

Bad to worse, from semis to quarters for Karnataka

In 2022, the side lost to Uttar Pradesh in the quarter finals. The Manish Pandey-led side lost the game as UP proceeded to the semis with a 5-wicket win. Karnataka’s quarterfinal and semi-final jinx continued unabated.

The side faced a few setbakcs heading into the 2023-24 season. Veterans Karun Nair and shreyas Gopal parted ways with the team, leaving the side lean for the domestic circuit.

Luckless Karnataka knocked out of Ranji Trophy 2024

Now, in 2023, Karnataka have been knocked out in the quarterfinals yet again, this time at the hands of Saurashtra. The Mayank Agarwal-led side were no match for the opposition despite a 249-run knock from the Karnataka skipper in the 1st innings.

With no Ranji plates or trophies to their name since the departure of Vinay Kumar and several key players, Karnataka are struggling to establish the dominance that they once possessed.


Editors pick

Explained: Why Virat Kohli's 'controversial dismissal' isn't controversial at all
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Indian bowlers to take most 5-wicket hauls in Test cricket Indian Bowlers With Most 5-fers Against England in Tests in India Indian players to score the most runs in a Test series Bowlers Who Missed Their Maiden Test Wicket Because of No-Ball Fastest to reach 19,000 international runs by innings