Babar Azam beats Chris Gayle & Virat Kohli to become the fastest player to score 10000 T20 runs

Babar Azam beats Chris Gayle & Virat Kohli to become the fastest player to score 10000 T20 runs

Azam took 271 innings to complete the milestone, while Gayle and Kohli took 285 and 299 innings, respectively.

Is Babar Azam a better T20 player than Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle? The Peshawar Zalmi skipper has certainly entered the bid for the title of greatest T20 batter after going past the all-time greats to become the fastest player to score 10,000 T20 runs.

Playing against the Karachi Kings in the PSL 2024 season, the right-handed batter flicked the ball by pacer Mir Hamza towards the mid-wicket region and ran two to complete 10,000 runs in T20 cricket. Having already been seen as one of the greatest ODI batters, the 29-year-old has also entered his name into contention as a T20 legend.

Fastest to 10000 T20 runs

Not only Gayle and Kohli, but Babar Azam has also beaten Aussie legends David Warner and Aaron Finch to claim the record. The former Pakistan skipper has not only beaten the four in terms of fewer innings taken to reach the milestone but also in terms of time taken.

Babar AzamKarachi Kings21 Feb 20241 Dec 201211y 82d271
Chris GayleGujarat Lions18 Apr 201715 Sep 200511y 215d285
Virat KohliMumbai Indians26 Sep 20213 Apr 200714y 176d299
David WarnerChennai Super Kings28 Apr 20215 Jan 200714y 113d303
Aaron FinchPerth Scorchers22 Dec 20212 Jan 200912y 354d327

Editors pick

Jasprit Bumrah & Kuldeep Yadav to spearhead India's bowling contingent for T20 World Cup 2024
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Top 10 biggest rivalries in world football Players with highest individual score in IPL IPL Winners over the years Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024