Ambati Rayudu pulls out of MLC 2023 as BCCI re-thinks retired players’ situation

Ambati Rayudu pulls out of MLC 2023 as BCCI re-thinks retired players’ situation

Texas Super Kings are soon to announce replacement for Ambati Rayudu in MLC 2023 league

Ambati Rayudu: Texas Super Kings (TSK) received a major blow as Ambati Rayudu has pulled out of the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket (MLC). Rayudu’s decision comes after the BCCI is still rethinking retired players’ situation. TSK shared an update on Twitter confirming Rayudu’s absence from the first season of MLC.

“Ambati Rayudu will not be available to participate in the first season of the MLC with Taxes Super Kings due to personal reasons. He will continue to cheer for the team from India.”

Also Read: India Squad Ireland T20Is: Rinku, Ruturaj & other youngsters to get call-up


Earlier, in the BCCI Apex Council Meeting shed light on some of the important pointers in Indian Cricket. The BCCI will introduce a cooling period for retired players, but a final decision will be taken by Roger Binny and Jay Shah. Currently, there is no policy on retired players playing in overseas leagues.

However, BCCI is worried that more and more players could feature in different leagues backed by IPL franchises owned abroad. Rayudu retired from IPL only to be signed by CSK-powered TSK in MLC

“The BCCI is a bit worried that many Indian players will retire early to play in the various lucrative T20 leagues abroad, especially as many teams in these leagues are owned by IPL franchises. Hence, there’s a thought being given to perhaps introduce a cooling-off period,” a source on the Board told TOI.


Ambati Rayudu: Rayudu pulls out of MLC, Texas Super Kings set to announce replacement

With Rayudu unavailable to play for TSK, the franchise is soon to announce a replacement for the right-hand batter. Rayudu’s non-presence is a massive blow to the franchise who will be eager to start the inaugural season of MLC on the winning note. Faf du Plessis will be leading the side, which also sees Devon Conway, Dwayne Bravo & David Miller turning out for TSK.

TSK Squad
Devon Conway, Mitchell Santner, Daniel Sams, David Miller, Gerald Coetzee, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Rusty Theron, Calvin Savage, Lahiru Milantha, Milind Kumar, Sami Aslam, Cameron Stevenson, Cody Chetty, Zia Shahzad, Saiteja Mukkamalla

Follow InsideSport on GOOGLE NEWS / Follow MLC 2023 Live Updates with InsideSport.IN.


Editors pick

Rain threat looms large on all T20 World Cup Super 8 clashes in West Indies
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?