Wednesday, May 18, 2022

LPL 2021 LIVE: Just a day before the start of Lanka Premier League, Kandy franchise gets new owners

- Advertisement -

LPL 2021 LIVE – Kandy Franchise: The second edition of Lanka Premier League starts on Saturday. And just one day before the event, Kandy franchise has got new owners. Vernost Marketing Technology Solutions & Safexpay have stepped forward to co-own the franchise in the upcoming edition. The Kandy franchise was named Kandy Tuskers in last year’s LPL and has been renamed as Kandy Warriors for the new season.

“We are ecstatic to be a part of the Lanka Premier League as the co-owner of the Kandy Warriors. The LPL has caught the imagination of cricket fans from around the world and we wanted to be a part of the amazing competition in the upcoming seasons. We are eagerly looking forward to engaging with the fans and having a cracker of a season.”, said one of the co-owner of the franchise.

LPL 2021- Angelo Mathews to captain Colombo Kings; Lalchand Rajput to coach Kandy Warriors in Lanka Premier League- check all details

LPL 2021 LIVE: 50% crowds to be allowed, tickets go for sale

LPL 2021 Tickets: The inaugural edition of the LPL was played in a bio-secure bubble but this year 50% of the stadium capacity will be opened for the fans. The organizers of Lanka Premier League and Sri Lanka Cricket upon recommendation of Sri Lanka’s Ministry of Health, have decided to open ticket sales for up to 50 percent of stadium capacity for the second season of the tournament, which will be held from December 5 to 23.

Also read: LPL 2021: Lanka Premier League launches official song sung by ‘manike mage hithe’ fame singer Yohani and other Sri Lankan artists

The league matches will be hosted at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, while the knockouts will be held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota.

“We are very excited to take our partnership with the Lanka Premier League to another level, by enabling ticket sales for the LPL series on Daraz. While live streaming the matches as the Digital partner for the tournament, we are also delighted that we can provide the opportunity to cricket fans to purchase their tickets to watch the matches in person.”, Heshan Perera – Head of Marketing (Daraz), said

LPL 2021 LIVE: Opening ceremony to go live on 5th December

LPL 2021 LIVE – The opening ceremony will be graced by top Sri Lankan artists who will perform live the theme song of LPL – “Win together”. Following the opening ceremony, the inaugural game of this year’s edition will be played between the defending champions Jaffna Kings and the runners-up Galle Gladiators.

Also read: LPL 2021: Lanka Premier League launches official song sung by ‘manike mage hithe’ fame singer Yohani and other Sri Lankan artists

Colombo Stars, Jaffna Kings, Galle Gladiators, Kandy Warriors, and Dambulla Giants will compete for this year’s championship of the Lanka Premier League. This year’s champions will receive prize money of LKR 20 million, whilst the runners-up will receive LKR 10 million while there will be attractive cash awards for individual player performances.

The first leg matches of the tournament will be played at the RPICS, Colombo, while the knock-out-stage, the eliminator, qualifier one, two, and the finals will be played at MRICS, Hambantota. The day games will begin at 3.00 pm while the evening game will start at 7.30 pm under lights.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -