Monday, January 17, 2022

IPL 2022 CSK Retention: MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Moeen Ali retained

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

IPL 2022 CSK Retention: IPL 2021 Champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is ready with their retained players list. Unlike many other teams there is no confusion, no indecisiveness as CSK unveiled MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali as their retained players for IPL 2022.  Follow all LIVE Updates on InsideSport.IN

R Jadeja has been placed under the highest slab of Rs 16 crore while MS Dhoni has decided to take a pay cut and retained at Rs 12 crore. Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad are retained for Rs 8 crore and Rs 6 crore respectively.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Chennai Super Kings (@chennaiipl)

IPL 2022 CSK Retention: MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Moeen Ali retained

“As per the directives of the BCCI, the CSK management have today finalised the list of retentions for the year 2022. The order of retention is as under: Ravindra Jadeja will be the No. 1 retention. No. 2 will be MS Dhoni. No. 3 will be Moeen Ali and No. 4 will be Ruturaj Gaikwad. This has been decided by the team management in consultation with the directors of CSKCL. As usual, we have followed a process and the decision making has been done by the team management,” CSK CEO K.S. Viswanathan told CSK TV on Tuesday (November 30).


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Chennai Super Kings (@chennaiipl)

IPL 2022 Retentions LIVE Updates:

IPL 2022 CSK Retention: MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Moeen Ali retained

IPL 2022: Heartbreaks for all 8 franchises, check 1 player they love the most but could not retain

R Jadeja- Rs 16 crore

MS Dhoni- Rs 12 crore

Moeen Ali- Rs 8 crore

Ruturaj Gaikwad- Rs 6 crore

MS Dhoni full IPL salary

R Jadeja full IPL salary

Moeen Ali full IPL salary

Ruturaj Gaikwad full IPL salary

IPL 2022 CSK Retention:

Ravindra Jadeja: I’m very happy and excited…getting retained by Chennai Super Kings once again. I would like to thank all the CSK family & fans. Keep supporting us, keep cheering for us…we will bring the trophy once again. Jadeja is #Yellove again. Whistlepodu

Ruturaj Gaikwad: Extremely happy, privileged and honoured…Really thankful to the CSK management to have me back in the CSK team, to have me retained. I’m very happy and proud to be able to represent CSK one more time. To all the fans, we had promised last year that we will come back stronger and we did that. I think this year we will come back even more stronger and we will try and defend this trophy for all of you fans. So, naan Rutu, unga sothu. I’m back in #Yellove again. Whistlepodu

Moeen Ali: Just to say how grateful and blessed I’m to be representing Chennai again… to be retained is an amazing opportunity again for myself to showcase my skills after such a good season with the team and winning the IPL for my first time and the team’s fourth time was a really amazing feeling. A special message for the fans, I can’t wait to play in front of you guys in Chennai and I have heard so much about you guys. So I’m really looking forward to that. Moeen Ali is #Yellove again. Whistlepodu

Faf du Plessis (Chennai Super Kings) NOT Retained

CSK opening batsman Faf du Plessis has been phenomenal for CSK for the last few seasons. In the last three seasons, he amassed 396, 449 and 600+ runs respectively. He scored 633 runs in IPL 2021 to guide Chennai Super Kings to the 4th IPL trophy. He had scored 633 runs to become the second-highest run-getter in last season, only two runs behind Orange Cap winner Ruturaj Gaikwad. He was bought by CSK for just Rs 1.6 crore in IPL 2018.

IPL 2022 Retentions

All the existing Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises on Tuesday revealed the list of their retained players ahead of the mega auction of the upcoming season.

MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Glenn Maxwell are among some of the big names that the existing franchises have decided to retain for IPL 2022. The players retained by eight IPL teams are:

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad
Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer
SunRisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj
Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal
Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

Meanwhile, the two new Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises — Lucknow and Ahmedabad have a budget of Rs 33 crore to pick three players who go back into the pool before the mega auction begins.

The rules for the existing franchises who decided to retain players were, they will be debited Rs 16 crore for the first player, Rs 12 crore for the second player, Rs 8 crore for the third player, and Rs 6 crore for the fourth player and the total deduction will be 42 crore.
For the eight franchises, rules were that they cannot retain more than three Indians (capped/uncapped). They cannot retain more than two overseas players and not more than two uncapped Indian players.

For the two new franchises — Lucknow and Ahmedabad — they cannot pick more than two Indian players (capped/uncapped). They cannot pick more than one overseas player and more than one Indian uncapped player.

In the mail sent by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to all the franchises, which had been accessed by ANI, the rules were formally conveyed and the salary purse for all the teams was set at Rs 90 crore.

The amount is an increase from the IPL 2021 auction as then the purse was Rs 85 crore. The eight existing franchises (CSK, KKR, RCB, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, and SunRisers Hyderabad) were allowed to retain up to four players.
The BCCI had set the retention window for the eight older franchises from November 1-30, and the window for Lucknow and Ahmedabad is from December 1-25

IPL 2022 CSK Retention:


  • Salary Cap – 90 Crore
  • Old Franchises: Will Name Retained Players by 30th November 2021, a maximum of 4 players can be retained. 3 Indians & maximum of two foreigners
  • New Franchises: 2 New teams to finalize their 3 players outside of auction between 1st December 2021 to 30th December 2021. Not more than 2 Indians & 1 foreigner
  • RTM Cards: There will also be no Right to Match (RTM) cards this time around.

TOTAL Players Purse – 90 Crore: How the retentions will work? 

Deductions for 4 Players INR 42 Cr
Player 1 INR 16 Cr
Player 2 INR 12 Cr
Player 3 INR 8 Cr
Player 4 INR 6 Cr
Deduction for 3 Players INR 33 Cr
Player 1 INR 15 Cr
Player 2 INR 11 Cr
Player 3 INR 7 Cr
Deductions for 2 Players INR 24 Cr
Player 1 INR 14 Cr
Player 2 INR 10 Cr
Deduction for 1 Player INR 14 Cr


For more sports news and IPL 2022 Retention live updates, follow us at InsideSport.IN

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -