IPL 2024: SRH captains over the years after Pat Cummins appointment ahead of new season

IPL 2024: SRH captains over the years after Pat Cummins appointment ahead of new season

Since their inception in 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad have seen nine different players lead the side, with Cummins ready to be the tenth.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad have had troubles with captaincy ever since David Warner left in 2021. Since he left, SRH has had five captains lead the side (including Pat Cummins). These changes haven’t favored the franchise. They had made the playoffs from 2016 to 2020, which included one title in 2016 and one final in 2018, but haven’t been in the reckoning since.

After Warner’s poor season as captain in 2021, he was let go. They finished 8th (last) in 2021, but Kane Williamson couldn’t do much better, and SRH ended 8th again in 2022, while Aiden Markram struggled and ended 10th (last) in 2023. As Pat Cummins takes over from Markram, let’s check out how many captains SRH has had and what their record is.

List of SRH captains & their record

CaptainSpanMatchesWonLostWin %
Kumar Sangakkara201394444.44
Cameron White201385362.50
Shikhar Dhawan2013-14167943.75
Daren Sammy201442250.00
David Warner2015-2167353052.23
Kane Williamson2018-2246222347.82
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2019-2382625.00
Manish Pandey20211010.00
Aiden Markram2023134930.76

Who is the most successful SRH captain?

David Warner is the most successful captain for the Sunrisers. He led the franchise in their first and only title run in 2016 and has the best win percentage (52.23) for any captain who’s led the side in over 10 matches.

Least successful captains for SRH?

While Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Manish Pandey have a worse win percentage and fewer match wins, it’s Aiden Markram who has the worst win percentage (30.76) for any captain who’s led the team in a full season.

Who was SRH’s first captain?

Kumar Sangakkara was the Sunrisers’ first captain. He led the side in 9 matches, managing to win and lose four while one ended in a tie.


Editors pick

Rain threat looms large on all T20 World Cup Super 8 clashes in West Indies
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Look at MS Dhoni’s iconic hairstyles in IPL Most Memorable Sunil Chhetri Moments India’s jerseys in every T20 World Cup India’s jerseys in each edition of T20 World Cup IPL 2024 controversies