Indian Men’s and mixed teams secure golds in Asia Cup 2024 archery tournament

Indian Men’s and mixed teams secure golds in Asia Cup 2024 archery tournament

In a thrilling match, the Indian trio defeated the Iranian team of Armin Pakzad, Arash Ghasemipour, and Radrezvan Behnia with a score of 232-229, clinching the top podium.

The Indian men’s compound team, comprised of Prathamesh Jawkar, Priyansh, and Kushal Dalal, secured the gold medal at the Asia Cup 2024 archery stage-1 world ranking tournament in Baghdad, Iraq on Saturday.

Having entered as the top seeds, India overcame Iraq in the semifinals after receiving a bye in the quarterfinals. Meanwhile, Bangladesh emerged victorious in the bronze medal match against the hosts. Notably, Jawkar and Dalal are set to face each other in the men’s compound individual final on Sunday.

However, the women’s compound team of Aditi Swami, Priya Gurjar, and Parneet Kaur settled for the silver medal after a loss to Iran by 223-229 in the final. In the individual women’s compound event, reigning world champion Aditi Swami secured the bronze by defeating her teammate Priya Gurjar in the third-place playoff match.

On Sunday, Parneet Kaur will compete in the final against Fatemeh Hemmati of Iran. Later in the day, Jawkar and Swami joined forces to claim gold in the mixed team compound event, defeating Iran 159-157 once again.

India holds the prospect of sweeping all gold medals in recurve archery on Sunday, with returning Olympian Deepika Kumari facing off against teammate Simranjeet Kaur in an all-Indian women’s recurve final. Additionally, Olympian Tarundeep Rai and Dhiraj Bommadevara will vie for the men’s title.

India is also in contention for all three recurve archery team finals – women’s, men’s, and mixed team. The Asia Cup Baghdad archery meet, encompassing both recurve and compound archery events, concludes on Sunday.


Editors pick

Yuzvendra Chahal creates history, becomes first player to take 200 wickets in IPL
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Who won the last 5 El Clasico? Stadiums hosting EURO 2024 Teams with highest scores in IPL Fastest 50 in IPL Virat Kohli – Wrong footed inswinging menace