Asian Games: India Men’s Badminton team settles for silver

India won a total of 15 medals on the day. The biggest medal-bagger proved to be athletics as the Indians alomst won in every event.

Indian Men’s Badminton team had to settle for a silver medal after losing to China 2-3 in the final. The Indian team led 2-0 but Kidambi Srikanth, Mithun Manjunath and Men’s Doubles pair Sai Pratheek and Dhruv Kapila ended up losing their respective ties. Meanwhile in Athletics, India bagged plenty of medals. Avinash Sable and Tajinderpal Toor clinched gold medals in their respective athletics events.

In the 3000m Steeplechase final, Sable created Games record with a timing of 8.19.53. Tajinderpal meanwhile has won back-to-back Asiad Gold medals. Long jumper Murali Sreeshankar meanwhile settled for silver. Jyothi Yarraji also won silver in Women’s 110m hurdles.

Also Read:

Earlier in the day, Indian Men’s trap team has won the 11th gold medal for India in the Asian Games. The team consisting of Zoravar Singh, Kynan Chenai and Prithviraj Thondaiman finished on the top of the podium on Sunday, 1st October. The Women’s trap team meanwhile won silver. Aditi Ashok also won a historic silver medal in Golf. The day also saw Archers in the qualification rounds. India’s Jyothi Surekha topped the qualification in Women’s Compound event.


Anirban Lahiri, Shubhankar Sharma, SSP Chawrasia, Khalin Joshi – 4:00 AM onwards

Aditi Ashok, Avani Prashanth, Pranavi Urs – 4:00 AM onwards


Eventing cross country team and individual

Apurva Kishor Dabhade, Vikas Kumar, Ashish Vivek Limaye – 5:30 AM


Recurve men’s individual qualification

Dhiraj Bommadevara, Atanu Das, Mrinal Chauhan, Tushar Shelke – 6:30 AM

Compound women’s individual qualification

Avneet Kaur, Jyothi Surekha Vennam, Aditi Swami, Parneet Kaur – 6:30 AM

Recurve women’s individual qualification

Bhajan Kaur, Prachi Singh, Ankita Bhakat, Simranjeet Kaur – 11:50 AM

Compound men’s individual qualification

Prathamesh Jawkar, Rajat Chauhan, Ojas Deotale, Abhishek Verma – 11:50 AM


Women’s 200m

Megha Pradeep – 5th place (Advances to semifinal)

Women’s 500m Kayak

Soniya Devi Phairembam – 4th place (Advances to semifinal)


Women’s heptathlon

Long Jump

Nandini Agasara – 5.94m (3rd), Swapna Barman – 5.71m (7th)

Javelin Throw

Swapna Barman – 45.13 (5th), Nandhini Agasara – 39.88 (9th)

Women’s 200m

Jyothi Yarraji – 23.78 (8th in Heats) – DNQ

Men’s 200m

Amlan Borgohain – 21.08 (3rd in Heats) – Qualifies for semifinal

Avinash Sable is a contender for  gold in men's 3000m steeplechase.
Avinash Sable is a contender for gold in the men’s 3000m steeplechase.

Men’s shot put final

Tajinderpal Singh Toor, Sahib Singh – 4:30 PM

Men’s long jump final

Murali Sreeshankar, Jeswin Aldrin – 4:40 PM

Men’s 3000m steeplechase final

Avinash Sable – 4:45 PM

Men’s 200m semifinal

Amlan Borgohain – 5.25 PM

Women’s discus throw final

Seema Punia – 5:35 PM

Women’s 1500m final

Harmilan Bains, Deeksha – 5:50 PM

Men’s 1500m round final

Ajay Kumar Saroj, Jinson Johnson – 6:00 PM

Women’s Heptathlon – 800m

Swapna Barman, Nandhini Agasara – 6.15 PM

Women’s 100m hurdles final

Jyothi Yarraji – 6:45 PM


Men’s – 81kg

Aditya Dhopaokar LOST TO S Rasooli – 0-10


Men’s 57kg quarterfinal

Parveen (IND) vs Sitora Turdibekova (UZB) – 11:45 AM

Women’s 60kg quarterfinal

Jasmine (IND) vs Ungyong Won (PRK) – 12:30 PM

Women’s 50kg semifinal

Nikhat Zareen (IND) vs Chuthamat Raksat (THA) – 4:30 PM


Women’s Pool A: India vs South Korea – 1:30 PM


Men’s Team event final

India vs China – 2:30 PM


India vs China – 5:30 PM


India BEAT Laos – 2-0

Japan vs India – 11:30 AM

India vs China – 12:30 PM


Men’s trap

Kynan Chenai, Prithviraj Toindaman, Zoravar Singh Sandhu – 6:30 AM onwards

Women’s trap

Rajeshwari Kumari, Manisha Keer, Preeti Rajak – 6:30 AM onwards


Dipika Pallikal is the top seed in mixed doubles squash along with Harinderpal Sandhu.
Dipika Pallikal is the top seed in mixed doubles squash along with Harinderpal Sandhu.

Dipika Pallikal/Harinderpal Singh Sandhu – India vs Korea – 8:30 AM

Anahat Singh/Abhay Singh: India vs Philippines – 10:00 AM

Mahesh Mangaonkar vs Jonathan Reyes – 1:30 PM

Dipika Pallikal/Harinderpal Singh Sandhu – India vs Pakistan – 1:30 PM

Anahat Singh/Abhay Singh – India vs Pakistan – 3:00 PM


India vs China – 4:30 PM

Where to watch Asian Games LIVE?

Asian Games will be LIVE Streamed on Sony Sports Network. The events will be telecast LIVE across Sony Sports Network Channels: Sony Sports Ten 1, Sony Sports Ten 2, Sony Sports Ten 3, Sony Sports Ten 4, Sony Sports Ten 5 channels. Fans can also watch it LIVE on Sonyliv App.

Share This: