IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket: All you need to know about ‘no-ball controversy’ that costed Mithali Raj & team India the ODI series vs Australia

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket: All you need to know about 'no-ball controversy' that costed Mithali Raj & team India the ODI series vs Australia
IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket: All you need to know about 'no-ball controversy' that costed Mithali Raj & team India the ODI series vs Australia

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket – No Ball Controversy Explained: All you need to know about the Jhulan Goswami no-ball controversy that costed Mithali Raj and Co. the 2nd ODI and series – Australia Women extended their winning streak to 26 games as they defeated India in the 2nd ODI in Mackay. Down and out in the run chase, a Beth Mooney century, followed by contributions from Tahlia McGrath and Nicola Carey & above all a ‘controversial no-ball’ decsision saw the hosts over the finish line on the final ball of the match – Check out what exactly happened in the last over?

Also Read: AUS-W beat IND-W: Australia keeps the winning streak alive with 5 wickets win over India Women on the back of Beth Mooney’s unbeaten ton

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket: All you need to know about ‘no-ball controversy’ that costed Mithali Raj & team India the ODI series vs Australia

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket – No Ball Controversy Explained: What exactly happened in the Jhulan Goswami’s final over?  Beth Mooney was on strike as Australia needed 13 from the final over to clinch a famous win.

Bad Start: Jhulan Goswami’s over got off to the worst possible start as overthrows ensured that the batters clinched three runs, to reduce the equation to 10 from 5.

Jhulan makes a comeback: A beamer followed two balls later as Australia reduced the deficit to six off three. Goswami did well to keep Carey on strike as Australia needed three to win off the final ball.

The Controversial No-Ball: However, as it transpired, the Indian veteran bowled a full toss that was deemed as a no ball, and Carey clinched a double off the subsequent free-hit to seal the tie.

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket – No Ball Controversy Explained: Was Jhulan Goswami’s no-ball a legitimate call? With three needed off the final ball, Nicola Carey hit the delivery,  full toss, straight to mid-wicket to seemingly end Australia’s hopes of pulling off the unthinkable. However, after a long pause, the third umpire deemed the ball delivered was above waist high handing Australia a reprieve and the win. India had prematurely celebrated before the no-ball was called, and the marginal call did not impress the visiting skipper.

Mithali Raj said, “For me, it was quite a nervous last ball because anything could have happened, we didn’t expect a no-ball but it’s part of the game and we were all on the edge of our seats. We will continue to put up the show we did today.”

Also Read: IND-W vs AUS-W: Didn’t expect a no-ball, says Mithali Raj

Smriti Mandhana, who scored a fluent 86 in the first innings, said, “We haven’t really seen the ball yet as a team. We were on the field, so on the field, it’s very hard to judge if it’s a waist-high no-ball or not. It’s still too early for us to go and see and really be unhappy about it. Definitely, we’ll have a look at it but, those things…when they go in your favour you’re really happy. But I wouldn’t want to add to the controversy on it – I seriously haven’t looked at the ball yet.”

IND-W vs AUS-W Cricket – No Ball Controversy Explained: Player of the match Beth Mooney scored an unbeaten 125 off 133 balls to take Australia to victory, said, “People on the sideline, they said it was a clear no-ball. I wasn’t sure. It was a pretty tight call.”