ICC T20 World Cup

India lifted the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup 2024 in a thrilling encounter against South Africa, winning by seven wickets on Saturday at the Kensington Oval in Barbados. India’s drought has ended as they had been waiting for an ICC T20 World Cup win since 2007. Now, India are the third team to have won two T20 World Cup trophies.

India Cricket Team won the inaugural edition of the T20 WC in 2007 while England won the latest edition. West Indies and England are the most successful teams in the tournament so far. Both teams have won the tournament twice. India, Pakistan, Australia and Sri Lanka are the one-time winners of the trophy.

T20 WC News


Points Table


T20 WC Venues

  1. 1. Antigua and Barbuda: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
  2. 2. Barbados: Kensington Oval
  3. 3. Guyana: Providence Stadium
  4. 4. Saint Lucia: Daren Sammy Cricket Ground
  5. 5. Saint Vincent & the Grenadines: Arnos Vale Stadium
  6. 6. Trinidad and Tobago: Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  7. 7. Lauderhill, Florida: Central Broward Regional Park Stadium
  8. 8. East Meadow, New York: Nassau County International Cricket Stadium
  9. 9. Grand Prairie, Texas: Grand Prairie Stadium

Past winners

T20 WC History

The inaugural ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, previously known as the ICC World Twenty20, took place in 2007. It was determined that the tournament would be held every two years, except in years when an ICC Cricket World Cup was scheduled, in which case it would occur the preceding year. The first edition was hosted in South Africa, where India emerged victorious over Pakistan in the final match. 

England currently hold the T20 World Cup title after defeating Pakistan in the 2022 final, securing their second championship victory. Remarkably, they achieved a historic milestone by becoming the first men’s team to simultaneously hold both the T20 and ODI World Cup titles.

Get Ready for the 2026 T20 World Cup

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2026 will mark the tournament’s tenth edition. India and Sri Lanka will co-host the tournament which is likely to be held in February and March 2026.

1 2 21
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?