Who won T20 World Cup 2009?

After finishing as runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, Pakistan won their first T20 World Cup two years later in 2009. England hosted this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final to become champions. Pakistan lost their first match against England and a crucial match against Sri Lanka but they still made a resounding comeback to lift the cup.  

Who was Pakistan captain in T20 World Cup 2009?

The captain of the Pakistan cricket team during the 2009 ICC T20 World Cup was Younis Khan. Under his leadership, Pakistan delivered a spirited performance, defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final match at Lord’s, securing their maiden T20 World Cup title. 

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner: Pakistan

Pakistan’s journey in the 2007 T20 World Cup was a rollercoaster, but ultimately a triumphant one! Here’s a breakdown of their results:

Group Stage

  • Lost the opening match against England by 48 runs. 
  • Won against the Netherlands by 82 runs
  • Lost against Sri Lanka by 18 runs
  • Defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets
  • Defeated Ireland by 39 runs


  • Defeated South Africa by 7 runs.


  • Defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets


Who was captain of Pakistan in 2009 T20 World Cup?

Younis Khan was the captain of Pakistan in 2009 T20 World Cup. 

Who was player of the series in 2009 T20 World Cup?

Tilakaratne Dilshan took the Man of the Series award in that edition of the T20 World Cup.

Who was player of the match in 2009 T20 World Cup final?

Veteran Shahid Afridi was adjudged as player of the match in T20 World Cup 2009 final. 

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2009

Younis Khan (C), Yasir Arafat, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Razzaq, Ahmed Shehzad, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Anjum, Shoaib Malik, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahzaib Hasan, Salman Butt, Saeed Ajmal, Misbah ul Haq.  

Latest News

Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?