Who won T20 World Cup 2016? 

The T20 World Cup 2016 Final took place at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens on April 3, 2016, deciding the champions of the tournament between England and the West Indies. The West Indies emerged victorious by 4 wickets, making them the first team to secure the ICC World Twenty20 title twice. This match also set a new attendance record for T20 World Cup.

The tournament was held across seven cities: Bengaluru, Dharamshala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur, and New Delhi. Like the previous edition, 16 teams participated, with 10 gaining automatic qualification as full ICC members, and the remaining six through the 2015 World Twenty20 Qualifier.

It featured three stages: the initial phase where the eight lowest-ranked teams competed, with the top two advancing to join the eight highest-ranked teams in the Super 10 stage. Finally, the top four teams progressed to the knockout stage.

The final took place at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, where the West Indies cricket team triumphed over England by four wickets. Virat Kohli of India was honored as the player of the tournament, while Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal and Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi topped the charts for runs and wickets, respectively.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner: West Indies

Group Stage

  • England vs West Indies: West Indies won by 6 wkts
  • Sri Lanka vs West Indies: West Indies won by 7 wkts
  • South Africa vs West Indies: West Indies won by 3 wkts
  • West Indies vs Afghanistan: Afghanistan won by 6 runs


  • West Indies vs India: West Indies won by 7 wkts


England vs West Indies: West Indies won by 4 wkts


Who was captain of West Indies in 2016 T20 World Cup?

Darren Sammy was the captain of West Indian in the T20 World Cup 2016. 

Who scored most runs in 2016 T20 World Cup?

Bangladesh batter Tamim Iqbal was the highest scoring batter with 295 runs in the tournament. 

Who took most wickets in 2016 T20 World Cup?

Mohammad Nabi took the most wickets in T20 World Cup 2016. 

West Indies squad for T20 World Cup 2016

Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles (wk), Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (capt), Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor.

Latest News

Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?