Who won T20 World Cup 2022? 

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup marked the eighth edition of the tournament. Held in Australia from October 16 to November 13, 2022, England Cricket Team emerged victorious in the final, defeating Pakistan by five wickets to secure their second ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title, matching the West Indies’ record. Sam Curran was awarded both Player of the Match and Player of the Tournament.

Originally slated for 2020, the ICC postponed the tournament due to the COVID-19 pandemic, rescheduling it for 2022 in Australia. As the defending champions, Australia also served as the host nation.

Matches were hosted across various cities including Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney. The semi-finals were held at the Sydney Cricket Ground and the Adelaide Oval, where Pakistan defeated New Zealand by seven wickets and England triumphed over India by ten wickets, respectively.

Qualification for the tournament involved a series of global matches, with teams competing for entry into the group stages. The top two teams from the groups progressed to the Super 12 stage, joining eight pre-qualified nations. 

T20 World Cup 2022 Winner: England

Group Stage

  • England vs Afghanistan: England won by 5 wkts
  • Ireland vs England: Ireland won by 5 runs (DLS method – due to rain)
  • England vs Australia: Match abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain (no toss)
  • England vs New Zealand: England won by 20 runs
  • England vs Sri Lanka: England won by 4 wkts


  • England vs India: England won by 10 wkts


  • England vs Pakistan: England won by 5 wkts


Who was captain of England in 2022 T20 World Cup?

England was led by Jos Buttler in the T20 World Cup 2022. 

Who scored most runs in 2022 T20 World Cup?

Virat Kohli was the leading run scorer in the T20 World Cup 2022. 

Who took most wickets in 2022 T20 World Cup?

Wanindu Hasaranga took the most number of wickets in the tournament. He dismissed 15 batters in T20 World Cup 2022. 

England squad for T20 World Cup 2022 

Jos Buttler (capt, wk), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills*, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt (wk), Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Latest News

Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?