Ind beat Aus in 2nd T20I: Virat Kohli’s Team India breaks Pakistan’s big T20I record

India beat Australia in 2nd T20I – Virat Kohli’s Team India breaks Pakistan’s big T20I record: Team India on Sunday defeated Australia in the second T20I of the series thus extending their winning streak in T20Is to 10 games, which helped them broke Pakistan’s big T20I record.

ALSO CHECK: India achieve two big T20I milestones; Check out

Notably, a win on Sunday didn’t only help India bag the three-match series but it also extend their winning streak in T20Is to 10 games thus breaking rivals Pakistan’s record, who won nine T20I games on a trot in 2018.

From July 2018 to November 2018, the Green shirts had defeated Zimbabwe and then Australia twice in a tri-series in Harare. They then won thrice each against the Aussies and the Black Caps in the UAE.

However, the Men in Blue have now surpassed Pakistan’s record with the win at Sydney on Sunday, which was their tenth consecutive T20I victory on the trot.

ALSO READ: Ind vs Aus 2nd T20: Yuzvendra Chahal equals Jasprit Bumrah’s big record, becomes highest-wicket taker in T20I

Interestingly, Team India are yet to lose a T20I in last 12 months with their first win going back to December 2019 against West Indies in Mumbai. In 2020, the first T20I series that India played was with Sri Lanka at home. The first game of the 3-match series was abandoned due to rain in Guwahati, while India won the other two games in Indore and Pune and sealed the series 2-0.

After that on the tour of New Zealand, India completed a 5-0 white-wash of the hosts with two of the matches being won in a Super Over. The win on Friday was their 9th consecutive one, while the second T20I win on Sunday was their 10th in a row.

Overall, Afghanistan holds the record of the most consecutive wins in T20Is – having won 12 T20Is on trot from 2018 to 2019. They also hold the second spot in the list with 11 consecutive T20I wins from 2016 to 2017.

However, if India clean sweep Australia in the ongoing T20I series then they will equal Afghanistan’s 11-straight win record and also jump to the second spot in ICC T20I rankings.