Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings

Founded: 2008

Captain: Shikhar Dhawan

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Home ground: PCA Stadium, Mohali

IPL titles: 0

Owners: Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul

Punjab Kings (Previously known as Kings XI Punjab) have been a dynamic force in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Since their inception in 2008, the team has undergone various transformations in quest of an IPL title. Led by the veteran Shikhar Dhawan and guided by the strategic insights of coach Trevor Bayliss, Punjab Kings aim to secure their maiden IPL title in the 2024 season.

PBKS Squad

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Matthew Short, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Sikandar Raza, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Shivam Singh, Harshal Patel, Chris Woakes, Ashutosh Sharma, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Shashank Singh, Tanay Thyagarajann, Prince Choudhary, Rilee Rossouw. 

PBKS Short Bio

Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, embarked on their IPL journey in 2008. Despite not clinching an IPL title yet, they have showcased glimpses of brilliance in flashes. Over the years, the team has witnessed ups and downs, with a continual focus on building a competitive squad.

The team’s vibrant red and silver logo reflects their spirit and determination, while the jersey complements it with a bold red and silver design. 

Jersey ColourRed & Silver
Theme SongDhoom Punjabi
Main RivalsDelhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad
Key PlayersShikhar Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Arshdeep Singh, Jitesh Sharma
CaptainShikhar Dhawan

Administration & Support Staff 

Head coach: Trevor Bayliss
Assistant Coach: Brad Haddin
Batting Coach: Wasim Jaffer
Head of Development: Sanjay Bangar
Fast Bowling coach: Charl Langeveldt

Spin Bowling Coach: Sunil Joshi

Fielding Coach: Trevor Gonsalves

PBKS Sponsors 

Lead sponsor: EbixCash

Principal Sponsors: BKT, Reliance Jio, Dream11, boAt, All Seasons Hand Rub, Lotus Herbals, Hindware Italian Collection
Official partners: Tide
Associate Sponsors: Campa, Amul Organic, B Natural, Orion, Nestlé Munch

Dubri Plywood  

Punjab Kings History 

PBKS in IPL 2008

In their inaugural season, Punjab Kings displayed flashes of brilliance but finished second in points table after losing to Chennai Super Kings in semi-final. 

PBKS in IPL 2009

The 2009 season proved challenging for Punjab Kings as they failed to secure semis berth and finished fifth on points table. 

PBKS in IPL 2010

The third season turned out to be a disastrous season for the Punjab Kings as they finished bottom of the table with 4 wins and 10 losses. 

PBKS in IPL 2011

The 2011 season saw Adam Gilchrist leading the side but they still failed to reach the playoffs, finishing on fifth spot.

PBKS in IPL 2012

Punjab finished in sixth place overall, winning eight matches out of sixteen.

PBKS in IPL 2013

In 2013, Punjab Kings struggled to find momentum and finished sixth in the league stage. Their campaign was marked by individual brilliance but lacked overall team consistency.

PBKS in IPL 2014

Punjab Kings had a remarkable league stage in 2014, finishing second. However, they faced disappointment in the final, losing to Kolkata Knight Riders.

PBKS in IPL 2015

The 2015 season saw Punjab Kings finishing eighth, failing to qualify for the playoffs. It was a challenging campaign as the team won just three of the 14 games.

PBKS in IPL 2016

Another poor season where they finished last on the points table with only four wins.

PBKS in IPL 2017

Punjab Kings once again failed to secure a playoff spot after they finished on fifth spot with seven wins.

PBKS in IPL 2018

The 2018 season witnessed Punjab Kings finishing seventh in the league stage. Despite strong individual performances, team success remained elusive.

PBKS in IPL 2019

Punjab Kings faced another season outside the playoffs in 2019, finishing sixth. Despite notable contributions from individual players, the team struggled for consistency.

PBKS in IPL 2020

The 2020 season brought a change in the team name but the fate remained the same. Despite promising performances, they finished sixth in the league stage, missing out on the playoffs.

PBKS in IPL 2021

In 2021, Punjab Kings had a mixed campaign, finishing sixth in the league stage. Despite flashes of brilliance, they fell short of securing a playoff berth.

PBKS in IPL 2022

A similar campaign from last year, finishing sixth in the league stage.

PBKS in IPL 2023

The 2023 season saw Punjab Kings facing challenges, finishing eighth in the league stage.

PBKS Batting Stats 

KL Rahul2018-2021552548132*56.62139.7623/2221110
Shaun Marsh2008-201771247711539.95132.7420/126678
David Miller2012-2019841974101*35.25139.409/113891
Mayank Agarwal2018-202260151310626.51419/114458
Glenn Maxwell2014-20207013839523.84157.696/011182

PBKS Bowling Stats 

Piyush Chawla2008-201387844/177.521
Sandeep Sharma2013-202261734/207.762
Axar Patel2014-201873694/217.411
Mohammed Shami2019-202142583/158.25
Arshdeep Singh2019-202351575/328.7411

PBKS Key Players

Shikhar Dhawan

The prolific batsman and captain of Punjab Kings, Shikhar Dhawan, continue to be a vital force in the team’s batting lineup. With a consistent track record, he shoulders the responsibility of leading the squad.

Liam Livingstone

An explosive batter and a handy bowler, Liam Livingstone adds power and balance  to Punjab Kings’ side. His aggressive batting style and ability to score big make him a key player for the team.

Arshdeep Singh

As the lead pacer, Arshdeep Singh brings experience and skill to the bowling attack. His pin point yorkers plays a crucial role in death overs. 


How many times have PBKS won IPL?

Punjab Kings have not won an IPL title yet.

Who is the owner of PBKS?

Punjab Kings is co-owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul.

Who is the captain of PBKS?

Shikhar Dhawan is the captain of Punjab Kings.

Which players have PBKS retained in 2024?

Shikhar Dhawan, Matthew Short, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Sikandar Raza, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Shivam Singh.

Which players have PBKS released in 2024?

Raj Angad Bawa, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mohit Rathee, Shahrukh Khan and Baltej Dhanda.

Which players have PBKS bought in 2024?

Harshal Patel (Rs. 11.75 crore), Chris Woakes (Rs. 4.20 crore), Ashutosh Sharma (Rs. 20 lakh), Vishwanath Pratap Singh (Rs. 20 lakh), Shashank Singh (Rs. 20 lakh), Tanay Thyagarajann (Rs. 20 lakh), Prince Choudhary (Rs. 20 lakh), Rilee Rossouw (Rs. 8 crore).

1 2 3
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?