Tuesday, May 17, 2022

SL beat ZIM: Nissanka, Chandimal, Asalanka fifties help Sri Lanka clinch 5 wicket win

- Advertisement -

SL beat ZIM: Team effort sees Sri Lanka seal 5-wicket win – Sri Lanka clinched a brilliant win over Zimbabwe to go 1-0 up in their bilateral series. Chasing 297 to win, 70s from Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal and Charith Asalanka helped the seal the chase down the score with 9 balls to spare. Follow Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe LIVE updates on InsideSport.IN 

Sri Lanka Innings – 299/5 (48.4 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Pathum Nissanka c RW Chakabva b Sikandar Raza 75 71 10 0 105.63
Kusal Mendis c RW Chakabva b B Muzarabani 26 24 6 0 108.33
Kamindu Mendis b R Ngarava 17 24 1 1 70.83
Dinesh Chandimal (WK) c CR Ervine b R Ngarava 75 91 4 1 82.42
Charith Asalanka lbw b R Ngarava 71 68 6 2 104.41
Dasun Shanaka (C) Not out 10 12 1 0 83.33
Chamika Karunaratne Not out 5 2 1 0 250.00
Extra 20 (b 4, w 14, nb 0, lb 2)
Total 299/5 (48.4)
Yet To Bat N PradeepJF VandersayM TheekshanaChamika Gunasekara
Blessing Muzarabani 9.4 0 57 1 5.90
Tendai Chatara 8 0 52 0 6.50
Richard Ngarava 10 0 60 3 6.00
Wellington Masakadza 6 0 29 0 4.83
Ryan Burl 1 0 12 0 12.00
Sean Williams 8 0 43 0 5.38
Sikandar Raza 4 0 23 1 5.75
Wesley Madhevere 2 0 17 0 8.50
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
K Mendis 1-40 6.4
PHKD Mendis 2-81 13.6
Pathum Nissanka 3-148 24.4
LD Chandimal 4-277 45.5
KIC Asalanka 5-292 47.6

SL vs ZIM LIVE score, 1st ODI: Sri Lanka needs 297 to win after Sean Williams century – Follow Live Updates

Sri Lanka are hosting Zimbabwe for a three-match ODI series that kick starts on January 16. The ODIs against Zimbabwe offers Sri Lanka an opportunity to rise in the ODI rankings (currently 9th). But Sri Lanka would be missing the services of Kamil Mishara, Avishka Fernando, and Janith Liyanage who are currently recovering from COVID.

SL vs ZIM LIVE score

SL vs ZIM LIVE score, 1st ODI: Sri Lanka needs 297 to win after Sean Williams century – Follow Live Updates

Zimbabwe Innings – 296/9 (50 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Takudzwanashe Kaitano lbw b JF Vandersay 42 49 7 0 85.71
Regis Chakabva (WK) c PHKD Mendis b JF Vandersay 72 81 6 1 88.89
Craig Ervine (C) b PHKD Mendis 9 20 0 0 45.00
Sean Williams b C Karunaratne 100 87 9 2 114.94
Wesley Madhevere b C Karunaratne 20 25 1 0 80.00
Sikandar Raza lbw b N Pradeep 18 17 2 0 105.88
Ryan Burl c D Shanaka b N Pradeep 4 4 1 0 100.00
Wellington Masakadza runout (C Karunaratne) 6 7 1 0 85.71
Blessing Muzarabani b C Karunaratne 3 6 0 0 50.00
Tendai Chatara Not out 1 2 0 0 50.00
Richard Ngarava Not out 10 2 1 1 500.00
Extra 12 (b 0, w 9, nb 1, lb 2)
Total 296/9 (50)
Yet To Bat
Nuwan Pradeep 10 1 53 2 5.30
Chamika Gunasekara 1 0 9 0 9.00
Maheesh Theekshana 10 0 40 0 4.00
Dasun Shanaka 4 0 34 0 8.50
Chamika Karunaratne 10 1 69 3 6.90
Jeffrey Vandersay 6 0 44 2 7.33
Kamindu Mendis 6 0 32 1 5.33
Charith Asalanka 3 0 13 0 4.33
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Takudzwanashe Kaitano 1-80 14.4
CR Ervine 2-110 19.6
RW Chakabva 3-160 29.1
W Madhevere 4-202 37.5
Sikandar Raza 5-248 44.1
RP Burl 6-252 44.5
WP Masakadza 7-269 47.2
SC Williams 8-285 49.1
B Muzarabani 9-286 49.4
Zimbabwe won the toss and opted to bat against Sri Lanka

Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Regis Chakabva(w), Craig Ervine(c), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Tendai Chatara

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Kamindu Mendis, Dasun Shanaka(c), Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekara, Nuwan Pradeep


Missing players:

Avishka Fernando: He will not play in the series, as he has tested Positive for Covid-19
Dhananjaya De Silva: Vice-Captain – He will not play as he is on Paternity Leave
Lahiru Kumara: He will not play as he has not fulfilled the ‘fitness standards’
Janith Liyanage: He will not play in the series, as he has tested Positive for Covid-19
Kalana Perera: He will not play as he has not fulfilled the ‘fitness standards’
Kamil Mishara: He will not play in the series, as he has tested Positive for Covid-19

As a result, All three scheduled ODI matches will be played at Pallekele. This is primarily done to avoid extensive travelling by the teams and also to maintain a check on the spread of Covid.

Team selections have gone quite haywire for the island nation as they missed out on some key players who have contracted the virus. Injuries too have plagued the Lankan squad as Kusal Perera and Wanindu Hasaranga would be missing from this important series. 

The Sri Lankan Cricket team will be led by their skipper, Dasun Shanaka, who is determined to win this home series. 17- men squad have been announced by Sri Lanka which saw the inclusion of three uncapped players in the squad. It remains to be seen whether Chamika Gunasekera, Nuwan Thusara, and Shiran Fernando get their debut caps in this upcoming series. 

The hosts will look to play ODIs after a long gap of four months. They had last hosted Proteas where they won 2-1.

A total of 3 ODI’s are scheduled to take place in this upcoming cricket series of Zimbabwe’s tour of Sri Lanka. The first ODI will take place on January 16 at Sri Lanka’s iconic cricket stadium of Pallekele.  The next ODi’s will be held on January 18 and January 21 respectively. 

This cricket series is of utmost importance for both teams, as the two cricketing nations would be eager to capture some valuable points for the ongoing ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. 

SL vs ZIM LIVE score, 1st ODI: Zimbabwe opt to bat against Covid-hit Sri Lanka- Follow Live Updates

On the other hand, Zimbabwe too will return to action after September after COVID played spoilsport against Ireland ODIs. The two teams had tied 1-1 in an ODI series when they faced each other in January 2018 (Dhaka). 

The African nation of Zimbabwe would bank heavily on its star performer and skipper Craig Ervine. Zimbabwe previously last played an ODI game in their tour of Ireland where the three-match series remained a stalemate of 1-1. The first ODI went in favour of Zimbabwe while the 3rd went to Ireland, the 2nd ODI game concluded with no result, thus effectively leading the series to remain as a tie.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dasun Shanaka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Chamika Karunaratne, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekara, Nuwan Pradeep, Ramesh Mendis, Shiran Fernando.

Zimbabwe Squad: Craig Ervine, Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Regis Chakabva, Sean Williams, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Milton Shumba, Blessing Muzarabani, Wesley Madhevere, Richard Ngarava.

Where can I watch SL vs ZIM LIVE streaming?

This SL vs ZIM ODI series will be telecasted by the Sony Sports Network in India, allowing cricket fans to watch this fascinating encounter between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. You can also watch LIVE streaming on SONY LIV.

SL vs ZIM LIVE score, 1st ODI: Sri Lanka needs 297 to win after Sean Williams century – Follow Live Updates

For more sports news and Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe updates, follow us at InsideSport.IN

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -