Home
Cricket
What does ICC rulebook say about Muneeba Ali’s controversial run out in Women’s IND vs PAK match?

What does ICC rulebook say about Muneeba Ali's controversial run out in Women's IND vs PAK match?

Image Credit: AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena via Alamy
On the last ball of the fourth over, Deepti Sharma ran Muneeba Ali out while she was standing at the striker's end.

Controversy and India-Pakistan matches go hand-in-hand. Guess what? During the high-octane Women’s ODI World Cup game between the two sides at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, a controversial run out took place while Pakistan were chasing 248.

Controversial run out in IND vs PAK match

Pakistan’s left-handed opener Muneeba Ali was adjudged out by the third umpire. After missing a delivery from Kranti Gaud, Muneeba took a small step outside the crease and later placed her bat behind the popping crease. Then Deepti Sharma fired a throw which struck the stumps from behind the wicket. Indian players appealed, and the decision went upstairs.

According to the new International Cricket Council (ICC) law, once a batter places their bat behind the popping crease, they won’t be adjudged out. Therefore, Muneeba shouldn’t have been out. But the third umpire, Kerrin Klaaste, did so. Muneeba was shocked, and Pakistan captain Fatima Sana was furious.

Muneeba even stopped from crossing the boundary line as Fatima chatted with the fourth umpire on the sidelines, but the decision wasn’t overturned.

Was the decision right?

Now the question comes, was the third umpire right? The answer’s yes. According to ICC playing condition rules, a batter isn’t adjudged run out only when he or she grounds the bat behind the popping crease while running or diving.

Muneeba wasn’t running but was stationed at the crease. Therefore, her dismissal was akin to a wicketkeeper stumping a batter out. Since her bat was in the air the moment the ball dislodged the bails, she was indeed out.

ICC’s law 30 of the playing conditions

  • 30.1 A batter shall be considered to be out of her ground unless some part of her person or bat is grounded behind the popping crease at that end.
  • 30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered to be out of her ground if, in running or diving towards her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of her person or bat, or between the bat and person.
Follow
Share

Editor's Pick

How Virat Kohli's 100 in Ranchi resulted in tickets for IND vs SA 3rd ODI getting sold out instantly Cricket How Virat Kohli's 100 in Ranchi resulted in tickets for IND vs SA 3rd ODI getting sold out instantly

Top Stories

Share article
Follow us on social media
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?
Choose ranking:
ICC Test Ranking
ICC ODI Ranking
ICC T20I Ranking