Paris 2024

Chak De India
Indian Hockey at Paris Olympics 2024: Venue, Squad, and Schedule

Indian Hockey at Paris Olympics 2024: Venue, Squad, and Schedule

India's hockey team is the most successful ever in the Olympics, winning a total of eight gold medals. 

The Indian men’s hockey team is all set to take part in the upcoming Paris Olympics in 2024. After winning the bronze medal at the 2020 Olympics, India is all set to improve their performance this year at the Paris Games. The team got their Olympic quota after winning gold in the Asian Games last year in 2023. 

The team placed in pool B will start its campaign at the Paris 2024 Olympics on July 27 against New Zealand.

Pool B consists of reigning Olympic champions Belgium (world No. 2), Australia (world No. 5), Argentina (world No. 7), New Zealand (world No. 10), and Ireland (world No. 12).

The Indian women’s hockey team filed to qualify for the Paris Olympics this year after losing 0-1 to Japan in the third-fourth place match of the FIH Olympic Qualifier at Ranchi.

Netherlands and Germany to be part of Group A

Meanwhile, Pool A features world champions the Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Spain, South Africa, and hosts France.

Venue for hockey at the Paris Olympics

Yves-du-Manoir, in Colombes, France, will be hosting all the hockey matches at the Olympics. It was named in memory of French rugby player Yves du Manoir in 1928 and served as the main stadium for the 1924 Summer Olympics. It had a capacity of 45,000 people. During the 1924 Olympics, it hosted athletics, some cycling, horseback riding, gymnastics, tennis, football, rugby, and two modern pentathlon events (running and fencing).

More from Olympics

Harpanpreet Singh to lead 

There are five Olympic debutants in the squad. Ace drag-flicker and defender Harmanpreet Singh will continue to lead the team, with midfielder Hardik Singh serving as vice-captain.

Harmanpreet is set to compete in his third Olympics, having made his debut as the youngest member of the Indian squad at the 2016 Rio Olympics and then contributing to the bronze medal win at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

India’s Schedule for the Paris Games

Date MatchTime
July 27, SaturdayIndia vs New Zealand9:00 PM IST
July 29, MondayIndia vs Argentina4:15 PM IST
July 30, TuesdayIndia vs Ireland4:45 PM IST
August 1, ThursdayIndia vs Belgium1:30 PM IST
August 2, FridayIndia vs Australia4:45 PM IST

Hockey team squad for the Paris Olympics

Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh

Defenders: Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Harmanpreet Singh, Sumit, and Sanjay.

Midfielders: Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, and Vivek Sagar Prasad.

Forwards: Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, and Gurjant Singh.

Reserve: Nilakanta Sharma. Jugraj Singh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak. 

Schedule for Men’s Hockey at the Paris Olympics 

27 JulyGreat Britain vs SpainA1:30 PM IST
27 JulyBelgium vs IrelandB2:00 PM IST
27 JulyNetherlands vs South AfricaA4:15 PM IST
27 JulyAustralia vs ArgentinaB4:45 PM IST
27 JulyGermany vs FranceA8:30 PM IST
27 JulyIndia vs New ZealandB9:00 PM IST
28 JulyGermany vs SpainA8:30 PM IST
28 JulyBelgium vs New ZealandB9:00 PM IST
28 JulyNetherlands Vs FranceA11:15 PM IST
28 JulySouth Africa vs Great BritainA11:45 PM IST
29 JulyIreland vs AustraliaB1:30 PM IST
29 JulyIndia vs ArgentinaB4:15 PM IST
30 JulySpain vs FranceA1:30 PM IST
30 JulySouth Africa vs GermanyA2:00 PM IST
30 JulyGreat Britain vs NetherlandsA4:15 PM IST
30 JulyIreland vs IndiaB4:45 PM IST
30 JulyArgentina vs New ZealandB8:30 PM IST
30 JulyAustralia vs BelgiumB11:30 PM IST
31 JulyGermany vs NetherlandsA9:00 PM IST
31 JulySpain vs South AfricaA11:15 PM IST
01 AugustIndia vs BelgiumB1:30 PM IST
01 AugustNew Zealand vs AustraliaB2:00 PM IST
01 AugustFrance vs Great BritainA4:15 PM IST
01 AugustArgentina vs IrelandB4:45 PM IST
02 AugustNetherlands vs SpainA2:00 PM IST
02 AugustAustralia vs IndiaB4:45 PM IST
02 AugustNew Zealand vs IrelandB8:30 PM IST
02 AugustBelgium vs ArgentinaB9:00 PM IST
02 AugustFrance vs South AfricaA11:15 PM IST
02 AugustGreat Britain vs GermanyA11:45 PM IST
04 AugustQuarter Final-11:30 PM IST
04 AugustQuarter Final-24:00 PM IST
04 AugustQuarter Final-39:00 PM IST
04 AugustQuarter Final-411:30 PM IST
06 AugustSemi Final-15:30 PM IST
06 AugustSemi Final-210:30 PM IST
08 AugustBronze Medal Match5:30 PM IST
08 AugustGold Medal Match10:30 PM IST


Editors pick

Nehra to leave Gujarat Titans ahead of IPL 2025, Yuvraj likely replacement: Report
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?