IPL winners list

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most intensely contested T20 league in the world as it features the best cricketers from all over the globe. In order to get their hands on the IPL trophy, franchises must play well for a two-month-long period across 16-17 matches. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the two record holders in IPL with five titles each. That only two teams have won 10 titles in 16 years of IPL proves how dominant they have been.

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition in 2008. Chennai Super Kings equalled Mumbai Indians for most titles last season.Ahead of IPL 2024, let’s take a look at the list of IPL winners over the years.

IPL winners & runners up list

YearWinnerWon byRunner upVenue
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super KingsMumbai
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai IndiansMumbai
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super KingsChennai
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI PunjabBangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super KingsHyderabad
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi CapitalsDubai
2021Chennai Super Kings27 runsKolkata Knight RidersDubai
2022Gujrat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan royalsAhmedabad
2023Chennai Super Kings5 wicketsGujrat TitansAhmedabad

Rajasthan Royals (2008)

Rajasthan Royals led by Shane Warne, won the inaugural Indian Premier League. The Rajasthan Royals were a totally well-balanced side in the opening edition as they defeated CSK to be crowned as first IPL winners.

Deccan Chargers (2009)

Led by another Australian veteran Adam Gilchrist, Deccan Chargers won the Indian Premier League’s second season. The Chargers defeated RCB in the final match of IPL 2009 played in Johannesburg.

Chennai Super Kings (2010)

The IPL 2010 final match was played between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. After losing the inaugural season, MS Dhoni finally managed to get his hands on the IPL trophy in IPL 2010.

Chennai Super Kings (IPL 2011)

Chennai Super Kings managed to retain their IPL title after they defeated RCB in the final match of the 2011 edition. With this win, CSK became the first team in IPL to have two trophies in their cabinet.

Kolkata Knight Riders (2012)

The IPL 2012 final was played between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders. After a disastrous start in their chase, KKR made an astonishing comeback with Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis playing the lead role as Kolkata lifted its first IPL trophy.

Mumbai Indians (2013)

Mumbai Indians were crowned as IPL winners in 2013. Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, MI defeated CSK in the final match to lift the trophy.

Kolkata Knight Riders (2014)

KKR repeated their antics of IPL 2012 as they won their second trophy in 2014. Led by Gautam Gambhir, KKR defeated Kings XI Punjab to be crowned as IPL champions.

Mumbai Indians (2015)

After CSK and KKR, Mumbai Indians became the third team to win the title more than once. MI once again defeated CSK to be named as IPL winners.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)

In another heartbreak for RCB, Sunrisers Hyderabad trumped them by 8 runs to be crowned as IPL 2016 winners. David Warner was the skipper for Hyderabad as he played a crucial role with the bat to help his side lift the trophy.

Mumbai Indians (2017)

In the IPL 2017 final, the Mumbai Indians defeated the Rising Pune Supergiants by a single run. After putting only 129/8 on the board, the MI bowlers, led by Mitchell Johnson (3/26), produced an emphatic performance to hold Steve Smith’s RPS a run short in the title clash.

Chennai Super Kings (2018)

MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings to their third Indian Premier League title in 2018. Chasing a target of 179, Watson almost single-handedly took CSK to the title with an unbeaten 117 off 57 balls.

Mumbai Indians (2019)

Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to their fourth Indian Premier League title in 2019. CSK had reached the final for a second consecutive time but couldn’t chase down a target of 150, wilting under the combined strength of MI’s spinners along with Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga.

Mumbai Indians (2020)

Mumbai Indians became the second team after Chennai Super Kings to successfully defend their title in what turned out to be an extraordinary Indian Premier League (IPL) season in 2020. They defeated Delhi Capitals in the final match of the tournament.

Chennai Super Kings (2021)

Dhoni’s CSK side completed a stunning comeback in the IPL 2021 by lifting the famous trophy. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK hammered Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 27 runs in the IPL 2021 final to secure their fourth title.

Gujarat Titans (2022)

Debutants Gujarat Titans scripted history after they won their maiden IPL title. Hardik Pandya and Co. defeated Rajasthan Royals at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium.

Chennai Super Kings (2023)

Chennai Super Kings lifted their record 5th trophy after they won against the defending champs Gujarat Titans in the IPL final. Requiring 10 off the last 2 balls, Ravindra Jadeja brought out his best. He smashed Mohit Sharma for two consecutive boundaries to lift the title for CSK.

Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?