Paris 2024

Women’s Premier League

Women’s Premier League is a franchise T20 cricket league in India. It is organised by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India. The WPL premiered in 2023 and featured five teams. Mumbai Indians won the first WPL trophy when they beat Delhi Capitals in the finals. The primary objective of WPL is to provide domestic players with a platform in which they can develop and achieve success.

The WPL is also BCCI’s effort to make Women’s cricket more popular in India. To ensure the participation of women, all women were given free tickets to the WPL matches in the first season. The matches were all held at Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. The first season had a prize money of Rs 10 Crores. 

1 2 3 4
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?