Kolkata Knight Riders

Founded: 2008-01-24

Captain: Shreyas Iyer 

Coach: Chandrakant Pandit

Home ground: Eden Gardens 

IPL titles: 3

Owners:  Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta

KKR claimed their thirs IPL title in the lastest season in 2024. KKR clinched the IPL championship in 2012 and 2014, showcasing their prowess in the tournament. Additionally, the franchise secured playoff berths in consecutive years from 2016 to 2018, along with a runner-up finish in 2021, highlighting their consistent performance in recent years.

KKR Squad 

Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shreyas Iyer (c), Phil Salt, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, KS Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Mitchell Starc, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain.

KKR  News 

KKR Short Bio 

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is one of the franchises competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL), a premier T20 cricket league in India. Founded in 2008, KKR is based in Kolkata, West Bengal, and is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her spouse Jay Mehta. The team’s home ground is the iconic Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata. KKR has won the IPL championship twice, in 2012 and 2014, under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. The team is known for its passionate fan base and vibrant team culture.

Administration & Support Staff 

CEO and Managing DirectorVenky Mysore
Team managerWayne Bentley
Head coachChandrakant Pandit[6]
Assistant coachAbhishek Nayar
Assistant coachJames Foster[7]
MentorDavid Hussey
Bowling coachBharat Arun
Assistant bowling coachOmkar Salvi
Fielding coachRyan ten Doeschate
Strength and conditioning coachChris Donaldson


ASSOCIATE SPONSORSLuxcozi, Jio, Joy, Acko, Royal Green, JSW Paints, Manipal Hspital 
OFFICIAL PARTNERSThumps Up, BIRA, Philips, Advance Laminates, Veedol, BigAnt Studios


SeasonLeague standingFinal standing
20086th out of 8League stage
20098th out of 8League stage
20106th out of 8League stage
20114th out of 10Playoffs
20122nd out of 9Champions
20137th out of 9League stage
20142nd out of 8Champions
20155th out of 8League stage
20164th out of 8Playoffs
20173rd out of 8Playoffs
20183rd out of 8Playoffs
20195th out of 8League stage
20205th out of 8League stage
20214th out of 8Runners-up
20227th out of 10League stage
20237th out of 10League stage
20241st out of 10 Champions

KKR Batting Stats 

G Gambhir2011-201712233459331.26124.72030
RV Uthappa2014-20199126498731.53135.84017
AD Russell2014-2024126249188*29.65175.91012
N Rana2018-20249021998728.19136.32014
YK Pathan2011-201712220617230.3135.9407
JH Kallis2011-201470160380*28.12108.31010
SP Narine2012-2024186153510917.05165.417
MK Pandey2014-20246114849432.97127.0507
Shubman Gill2018-20215814177631.48123010
VR Iyer2021-202451132610431.57137.12111

KKR Bowling Stats 

SP Narine2012-20241861985/1923.936.658
AD Russell2014-20241261165/1521.749.22
CV Varun2020-202470825/2023.987.511
PP Chawla2014-201976714/3228.498.241
UT Yadav2014-202368654/2330.218.442
JH Kallis2011-201470483/1328.777.580
Shakib Al Hasan2011-202157483/1729.777.160
Kuldeep Yadav2014-202050464/2030.138.181
L Balaji2011-201342444/1825.97.622
R Bhatia2011-201354363/2228.387.160

Team Performance 

YearIPL resultCaptainTop BatsmanRunsTop BowlerWickets
2008League stageSourav GangulySourav Ganguly349Umar Gul12
2009League stageBB McCullumBrad Hodge365Ishant Sharma11
2010League stageSourav GangulySourav Ganguly493Ashok Dinda, Shane Bond, Murali Kartik9
2011PlayoffsGautam Gambhir Jacques Kallis 424Iqbal Abdulla16
2012ChampionsGautam Gambhir Gautam Gambhir590Sunil Narine24
2013League stageGautam Gambhir Gautam Gambhir406Sunil Narine22
2014ChampionsGautam Gambhir Robin Uthappa660Sunil Narine21
2015League stageGautam Gambhir Robin Uthappa364Andre Russell14
2016PlayoffsGautam Gambhir Gautam Gambhir 501Andre Russell15
2017PlayoffsGautam Gambhir Gautam Gambhir 490Chris Woakes17
2018PlayoffsDinesh KarthikDinesh Karthik498Kuldeep yadav 17
2019League stageDinesh KarthikAndre Russell 210Andre Russell 11
2020League stageEoin MorganShubman Gill 440Varun Chakravarthy17
2021Runners-upEoin MorganShubman Gill478Varun Chakravarthy18
2022League stageShreyas IyerShreyas Iyes401Andre Russell17
2023League stageNitish Rana Rinku Singh474Varun Chakravarthy20
2024ChampionsShreyas Iyer Sunil Narine 488Varun Chakravarthy21


How many times have KKR won IPL?

Three times in 2012, 2014 and 2024.

Who is the owner of KKR? 

Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta

Who is the captain of KKR? 

Shreyas Iyer 

1 4 5
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?