Cricket
WATCH: Ravi Shastri gives verdict on viral picture of uprooted stumps

WATCH: Ravi Shastri gives verdict on viral picture of uprooted stumps

The incident happened in a local ACT Premier Cricket Third Grade competition in Australia.

Former India coach Ravi Shastri has his say on a bizarre turn of events during a Melbourne club cricket game on December 10 (Sunday). The incident happened in a local ACT Premier Cricket Third Grade competition in Australia. Despite the middle wicket being disturbed, the batter was declared “not out” in as the bails remained mysteriously intact.

“Never seen something likes this. You have to give this not out. That’s a one-off for sure,” Ravi Shastri said during his debut commentary stint in Big Bash League.

As stated above, the mind-boggling incident was from a game between Ginninderra Cricket Club and West District Cricket Club. Several experts argued that the umpires should have been more cautious, suggesting that the stumps and bails were packed too tightly, contributing to this unusual scenario. Thе debate hinges on the interpretation of the laws, particularly the definition of a broken wicket.

The MCC’s law states, “The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps.” However, if a bail falls and lodges between two stumps, it is deemed a complete removal. This technicality played a crucial role in the recent umpiring decision that has bеcome the talk of the town and the cricketing community.

Google News Whatsapp channel

Editors pick

Gujarat Titans's Rs 3.6 Cr signing meets with accident in super bike ahead of IPL 2024