Asia Cup

The ACC Men’s Asia Cup, commonly known as the Asia Cup, is an international cricket tournament for men, officially organised by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). It features teams from various Asian countries competing in both the One Day International (ODI) format, consisting of 50 overs per side, and the Twenty20 International (T20) format, with each team playing 20 overs.

Established in 1983 concurrently with the founding of the Asian Cricket Council, the Asia Cup serves as a platform to foster goodwill among Asian nations. Originally intended to occur biennially, the tournament has become the premier continental championship in cricket. The victorious team in the Asia Cup claims the esteemed title of the champion of Asia. The competition follows a cyclical pattern, switching between ODI and T20 formats every two years.

As of the most recent edition in 2023, India holds the current championship title, having emerged as the winners in the tournament.

Men’s Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023
YearWinnerRunner-upHosting Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1991IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh
2022Sri LankaPakistanUAE
2023IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka and Pakistan

India won the Asia Cup 2023 title after defeating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets. As of now, India has secured titles in eight editions of the Asia Cup.

1 2
Share article
Follow us on social media
Google News Whatsapp channel
Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?