ZIM vs BAN: Zimbabwe names 20-member squad for one-off Test against Bangladesh

ZIM vs BAN: The Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) has granted Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) permission to host Bangladesh in July for a three-match one-day international (ODI) series that forms part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Bangladesh had already selected their squad for the Zimbabwe tour that will include one Test match and three Twenty20 International matches.

ZIM vs BAN 2021: Zimbabwe squad for one-off Test against Bangladesh: Regis Chakabva (wk), Tendai Chatara, Tendai Chisoro, Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Roy Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams (capt)

ZIM vs BAN: Bangladesh Cricket Board announce squad for the Zimbabwe tour 

ZC is particularly grateful to SRC Chairman Mr. Gerald Mlotshwa for personally fighting tooth and nail to ensure cricket was exempted from the Government directive to suspend all sporting activities in the country as part of new COVID-19 restrictions aimed at containing the spread of the virus.

ZIM vs BAN 2021: Rangana Herath, Ashwell Prince appointed as spin bowling, batting consultants ahead of Zimbabwe series

All the matches between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh will be played behind closed doors at Harare Sports Club, with no spectators allowed in the ground as part of the pandemic protocols that ZC has put in place at its facilities.

The tour will begin with the Test match scheduled for 7-11 July.

Next up will be the ODI series penciled in for 16, 18, and 20 July – those matches are part of the Super League that is serving as the main route for qualification for the 2023 edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India.

ZIM vs BAN 2021: Mahmudullah added to Bangladesh Test squad after impressive performances in Dhaka Premier League

The 13-team league competition will see the top seven sides, plus India as the hosts, qualify directly for the World Cup, while the remaining five teams, along with five Associate sides, will play in a qualifier tournament from which two other teams will go through to the global showcase.

After the Super League clash, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh will then face off in three T20I matches set for 23, 25, and 27 July.

Before the Test, the tourists will play a two-day practice match scheduled for 3-4 July as well as another warm-up game on July 14, two days ahead of the ODI series.

The tour will be held in a bio-secure bubble, which simply refers to an environment that is aimed at keeping the teams relatively isolated from the outside world so as to greatly minimize the risk of COVID-19 infection.


7-11 July 2021 Only Test Harare Sports Club 0930 hours
16 July 2021 1st ODI Harare Sports Club 0930 hours
18 July 2021 2nd ODI Harare Sports Club 0930 hours
20 July 2021 3rd ODI Harare Sports Club 0930 hours
23 July 2021 1st T20I Harare Sports Club 1230 hours
25 July 2021 2nd T20I Harare Sports Club 1230 hours
27 July 2021 3rd T20I Harare Sports Club 1230 hours