WATCH: Rohit Sharma smashes 31-ball fifty, set a new record in IND vs AUS 3rd ODI

Rohit created a new record with his first six of the innings during IND vs AUS 3rd ODI in Rajkot.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma set a new record during IND vs AUS 3rd ODI at the Saurashtra Cricket Ground in Rajkot. The Indian opener with his first six of the innings surpassed New Zealand’s Martin Guptill to score most international sixes in a single country. The 36-year-old now has 258 sixes in India.

Most sixes in international cricket in same country:
257* – Rohit Sharma in India
256 – Martin Guptill in New Zealand
230 – Brendon McCullum in New Zealand
228 – Chris Gayle in West Indies
186 – MS Dhoni in India

With his 5th six of the innings, the ‘Hitman’ also became the fastest player to hit 550 sixes, surpassing West Indies’ Chris Gayle (548) to reach the feat in just 471 innings in international cricket.

Chasing a mammoth 353, Rohit Sharma and Washington provided India a brilliant start with the Indian skipper scoring a 31-ball fifty. While Glenn Maxwell got rid of Washington Sundar (18), Rohit is still at the crease with Virat Kohli batting alongside him.

Rohit nears Chris Gayle’s record

Rohit Sharma now is just 4 sixes away in surpassing Chris Gayle to become player with most sixes in international cricket. Currently, Gayle holds the record with 553 sixes across all formats.

Most international sixes across formats
1. Chris Gayle (West Indies) – 553 sixes
2. Rohit Sharma (India) – 550 sixes*
3. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) – 476 sixes
4. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) – 398 sixes
5. Martin Guptill (New Zealand) – 383 sixes

Also Read:

Earlier, Davi Warner scored a quickfire 56 to provide Australia a flying start. Post Warner’s departure, Mitchell Marsh (96) along with Steve Smith (74) stitched a brilliant 137-run partnership for the second wicket. However, Team India made a comeback as they got few quick wickets in the middle over to push the run-rate back. However, Marnus Labuschagne’s 72 took Australia past 350.

Notably, Team India have already sealed the 3-match ODI series with wins in Mohali and Punjab.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

More from insidesport
Share This: