Wednesday, June 29, 2022

TNPL 2021: Tamil Nadu Premier League gets letter of approval from state govt; to start from July 19

- Advertisement -

TNPL 2021: Tamil Nadu Premier League gets letter of approval from state govt; to start from July 19- The upcoming fifth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is set to start on July 19. A formal written approval from the state government has been issued to the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA), and the official announcement is expected on Friday (July 2), Cricbuzz reported. 

TNPL 2021 dates: The final is set to be on August 15. The TNCA has set some strict Covid-19 protocols for those taking part in the competition. Five RT-PCR tests and five-day quarantine for the players and officials have been set as mandatory.

ALSO READ| TNPL 2021: Tamil Nadu Premier League set to take place in July and August

TNPL 2021 Venues: The state government has given permission to stage the 32 matches in three centres. After a meeting on Friday, the TNCA will decide on the other two venues. Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Coimbatore and Salem have also come forward to stage the matches. After the first leg, Chennai will also host the final.

TNCA sources have said that the players, officials and support staff will enter quarantine on July 4 in Chennai. Before going into isolation, all the players will have to show two negative results in RT-PCR tests and three more during the five-day quarantine. The players will be allowed to practise from July 9 or 10. As per the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) stipulations, the anti-corruption officials of the BCCI will monitor the games.

The eight-team league resumes after a one-year break due to the pandemic situation in the country.

TNPL 2021 teamsChepauk Super Gillies, Lyca Kovai Kings,

Dindigul Dragons,

Trichy Warriors (formerly Ruby Kanchi Warriors),

iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (formerly Karaikudi Kaalai),

Siechem Madurai Panthers (formerly Madurai Super Giant),

Salem Spartans (formerly Tuti Patriots), 

V B Kanchi Veerans (formerly VB Thiruvallur Veerans)

TNPL Defending champions: Super Gillies

TNPL Runners-up: Dragons

For more sports news and TNPL 2021 latest updates, follow us at

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -