Star Sports to broadcast Mujib Centenary T20 Cup in India

Mujib Centenary T20 Cup LIVE,Asia XI vs World XI squads,Star Sports,Virat Kohli,Sports Business News

Star Sports will broadcast the Mujib Centenary T20 Cup LIVE in India. The Walt Disney Company India subsidiary, according to sources, has inked a deal with the Bangladesh Cricket Board for the two-match series. A formal announcement will be made shortly.

The two-match series between an All-Star Asia XI and the Rest of the World XI has been tentatively scheduled for March 21 and 22 in Dhaka as part of the birth centenary celebrations of the Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the founder of the nation.

Also Read: Pakistan to be excluded from BCB’s Asia XI-World XI games

Indian skipper Virat Kohli, veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have been named in the 16-member All Stars Asian XI. However, there is still no certainty on all the Indian stars’ participation in the tournament. The Board of Control for Cricket in India, in spite of an in principle consent, has stated that a final call on the players’ availability will be taken after discussing the workload on them.

Kohli remains the only uncertainty, while there appears little doubt about the other four team India stars.

After the long full tour of New Zealand, India will be playing three One Day Internationals against South Africa on March 12, 15 and 18 at home. Then the players will have to join their respective squads for the Indian Premier League, slated to start from March 29. It remains to be seen if the stars like Kohli and Pant will like to participate in the Bangladesh tournament despite this busy schedule.

In November 2019, the BCB had urged the BCCI to allow seven Indian players for the Asia XI. The BCB had also rescheduled the Mujib Cup dates to avoid a clash with India’s third ODI against South Africa.

BCCI Joint Secretary Jayesh George had though confirmed that the Indian players will play the Asia XI. The BCB had also not invited Pakistan cricketer to ensure Indian players availability. Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ehsan Mani had though stated that Pakistan cricketers would be available for the tournament, as the dates clash with the 2020 Pakistan Super League schedule.

The squads:

All Stars Asia XI: Liton Das, Shikhar Dhawan, Tamim Iqbal, Rashid Khan, Virat Kohli, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahmudullah, Lasith Malinga, Rishabh Pant, Thisara Perera, KL  Rahul, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Kuldeep Yadav.

Rest of the World: Jonny Bairstow, Sheldon Cottrell, Faf du Plessis, Chris Gayle, Alex Hales, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lungi Ngidi, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Adil Rashid, Brendan Taylor and Andrew Ty.

Also Read: BCCI to release 5 players for BCB’s Asia XI vs World XI T20Is