Shaw back in Test squad; Agarwal replaces Rohit for ODIs

Prithvi Shaw,Rohit Sharma,Mayank Agarwal,India squad for new zealand tour,Shubman Gill

Opener Prithvi Shaw on Tuesday made a comeback in the Indian Test team for the two-match series against New Zealand and also named in the 16-man squad was Shubman Gill.

Shaw, who last played for India in October 2018, returns to the side after Rohit Sharma was ruled out of the ODI and Test series due to a left calf muscle strain. The two-Test series begins in Wellington on February 21.

Also Read: Rohit out of ODIs, Test series in New Zealand

For the three-match ODI series beginning in Hamilton on Wednesday, Mayank Agarwal replaced Rohit in the side.

“Vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left calf muscle strain during the fifth T20I against New Zealand at Tauranga on Sunday.

“He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batsman has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI and the Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury,” said the BCCI in a statement.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).

Also Read: IND-NZ T20I series 2020: 0-5 series whitewash by India hurts: Taylor