SA vs Pak Test Series: Pakistan, South Africa announce squads for the two test series

South Africa vs Pakistan Test Series: Pakistan have dropped fast bowler Mohammad Abbas, Shan Masood and Haris Sohail from the Test squad for the forthcoming home series against South Africa. Babar Azam will take over as captain from Mohammad Rizwan and skipper Pakistan’s red-ball team for the first time in Karachi after a thumb fracture put him out of contention in New Zealand.

Squad: Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (c), Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Tabish Khan

South Africa’s squad for the two match test series
South Africa have had to make an eleventh hour change to their touring party to Pakistan with Marco Jansen called up to replace Ottniel Baartman from the originally named squad.

CSA also confirmed that the entire touring party had been cleared for travel to Pakistan in line with the COVID-19 protocols that were put in place in conjunction with the Pakistan Cricket Board. The Proteas squad led by Quinton de Kock, cleared two separate rounds of Covid tests on Tuesday and Thursday, and will leave later this evening for their first tour of Pakistan since 2007.

Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Marco Jansen.