SA beat SL, 1st T20I score: Dinesh Chandimal’s fifty in vain as South Africa defeats Sri Lanka by 28 runs

SL vs SA LIVE, 1st T20I: Sri Lanka need 164 runs to win against South Africa- Follow LIVE streaming on SONY LIV and live updates
SL vs SA LIVE, 1st T20I: Sri Lanka need 164 runs to win against South Africa- Follow LIVE streaming on SONY LIV and live updates. [Pic credits: Circle of Cricket]

SA beat SL, 1st T20I score: South Africa defeats Sri Lanka in T20 opener- South Africa defeated Sri Lanka in the first T20 to avenge their ODI series and continue their impressive record against Sri Lanka in T20Is. Chasing 164 runs, Sri Lanka kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Dinesh Chandimal was the lone warrior as he struck fifty but others failed to give him company. He struck 64 runs off 54 balls with the help of 5 fours and a couple of sixes. As a result, South Africa takes the series 1-0.

Earlier, South Africa scored 163 runs on the scorecard as Quinton de Kock and Reeza Hendricks provided a terrific start after SA opted to bat first. Wanindu Hasaranga dismissed the duo after a promising start. Later, Aiden Markram and David Miller took charge as South Africa put on a decent total. The two teams will next play on September 12 at 7.30 PM IST. The hosts Sri Lanka have to win the match stay alive in the three-match series. Follow SA vs SL LIVE score updates on and LIVE streaming on SONY LIV

SA beat SL, 1st T20I score: Dinesh Chandimal’s fifty in vain

Sri Lanka Innings 135/6 (20 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Avishka Fernando runout (A Nortje) 11 14 0 0 78.57
Dinesh Chandimal (WK) Not out 66 54 5 2 122.22
Bhanuka Rajapaksa lbw b KA Maharaj 0 1 0 0 0.00
Charith Asalanka c Dwaine Pretorius b T Shamsi 6 19 0 0 31.58
Dasun Shanaka (C) b BC Fortuin 16 14 1 0 114.29
Wanindu Hasaranga c RR Hendricks b Dwaine Pretorius 0 2 0 0 0.00
Dhananjaya de Silva b A Nortje 1 2 0 0 50.00
Chamika Karunaratne Not out 22 14 1 2 157.14
Extra 13 (b 0, w 12, nb 0, lb 1)
Total 135/6 (20)
Yet To Bat PVD ChameeraM TheekshanaA Dananjaya
Bjorn Fortuin 4 0 24 1 6.00
Anrich Nortje 4 0 29 1 7.25
Kagiso Rabada 3 0 21 0 7.00
Keshav Maharaj 4 0 19 1 4.75
Tabraiz Shamsi 2 0 20 1 10.00
Dwaine Pretorius 3 0 21 1 7.00
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
A Fernando 1-34 5.5
B Rajapaksa 2-34 6.1
KIC Asalanka 3-68 11.1
D Shanaka 4-95 14.6
W Hasaranga 5-102 15.5
D de Silva 6-104 16.1
SA beat SL, 1st T20I score: South Africa defeats Sri Lanka in T20 opener
South Africa Innings 163/5 (20 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Quinton de Kock (WK) c KIC Asalanka b W Hasaranga 36 32 3 1 112.50
Reeza Hendricks c M Theekshana b W Hasaranga 38 30 3 1 126.67
Aiden Markram c PVD Chameera b D Shanaka 48 33 1 2 145.45
Heinrich Klaasen lbw b M Theekshana 2 4 0 0 50.00
David Miller c A Fernando b PVD Chameera 26 15 2 1 173.33
Dwaine Pretorius Not out 10 6 1 0 166.67
Kagiso Rabada Not out 0 0 0 0 0.00
Extra 3 (b 0, w 3, nb 0, lb 0)
Total 163/5 (20)
Yet To Bat KA MaharajBC FortuinA NortjeT Shamsi
Dushmantha Chameera 4 0 35 1 8.75
Dhananjaya de Silva 2 0 12 0 6.00
Maheesh Theekshana 4 0 35 1 8.75
Akila Dananjaya 3 0 28 0 9.33
Wanindu Hasaranga 4 0 23 2 5.75
Chamika Karunaratne 2 0 24 0 12.00
Dasun Shanaka 1 0 6 1 6.00
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Q de Kock 1-73 9.5
RR Hendricks 2-79 11.1
H Klaasen 3-87 12.6
AK Markram 4-152 18.5
DA Miller 5-156 19.3

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Avishka Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj(c), Kagiso Rabada, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Sri Lanka has not won an ODI match against South Africa in the last three T20 meetings.

Led by Dasun Shanaka Sri Lanka is ranked 9th in the ICC T20I rankings while South Africa is ranked 5th. Both the teams will eye to test their bench strength ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup which is scheduled to take place later this year in UAE. 

SL vs SA, 1st T20I LIVE: Sri Lanka start favourite against South Africa after thumping win in ODIs, Toss at 6.30 PM- Follow LIVE updates

Also Read: SL beat SA 3rd ODI: Regret not finishing the first game off, says Boucher after ODI series loss

Match Details

Sri Lanka vs South Africa

1st T20I

August 10, 2021 – Wednesday

R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

SL beat SA 3rd ODI: SL vs SA Theekshana, Asalanka lead Sri Lanka to 78-run win against South Africa, seal series 2-1

Also Read: SL vs SA T20 World Cup 2021 India Team Squad: सुनील गावस्कर ने चुनी टीम, देखिए किन खिलाड़ियों को मिली जगह कौन हुआ बाहर 

SL vs SA squads 

South Africa

Keshav Maharaj(C), Aiden Markram, Beuran Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Dwaine Pretorius, Rassie van der Dussen, Bjorn Fortuin, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Heinrich Klaasen, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Anrich Nortje, Lizaad Williams

Sri Lanka

Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka, Pulina Tharanga, Maheesh Theekshana

For more sports news and updates, follow us at