Road Safety World Series 2021: 5 legends who are returning to cricket on March 5; Check out

Road Safety World Series 2021: 5 legends who are returning to cricket on March 5 – – The Road Safety World Series…

Road Safety World Series 2021: 5 legends who are returning to cricket on March 5 – – The Road Safety World Series 2021 is all set to resume on March 5 after the COVID-19 pandemic led to the postponement of the tournament last year. 

Five teams featured in the last season of Road Safety World Series- India Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, Australia Legends, South Africa Legends, and West Indies Legends played in the event. But Brett Lee’s Australia won’t be a part of the tournament this year. Therefore, the organisers have replaced his team with Bangladesh Legends and England Legends.

Road Safety World Series Schedule: India to play Bangladesh in Road Safety World Series opener on March 5

The matches in the group stage of Road Safety World Series will take place after which the semi-finals would be played on March 17 and March 18. The final is scheduled for Sunday, March 21. The India Legends are atop the points table with wins in both their matches. They will resume their journey against Bangladesh. Let’s have a look at the top 5 biggest legends who will be seen in action. 

Sachin Tendulkar (India legends)

A modern legend of the game, Tendulkar is India’s very own God of Cricket and a world-class batsman. He is one of three batsmen in history who has scored 11,000 Test runs. He is the owner of most centuries in the world and has dominated the sport since the start of his career.

He is the only cricketer who contributed most for India to make cricket as the most popular games of India. He is the only cricketer who scored 100 centuries in total until now. Records like most centuries and most runs in both ODI and Test matches. Sachin has also the world record of most Man of the Match Awards in ODI cricket history. He has scored 15,921 runs in Test cricket and 18,426 runs in ODIs.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka Legends)

Dilshan’s shift up the order as an opening batsman earned him a big hill of accolades for his exceptional batting prowess. TM Dilshan not only went on to become one of the finest openers after Sanath Jayasuriya in Sri Lanka but was also a house-hold name in the sub-continent. The very famous ‘Dil-Scoop’ which was modified by Ab de Villiers in modern cricket, was practiced by all the aspiring cricketers on and off the field. 

In 330 ODIs he played, Dilshan batted in 303 innings and scored 10290 runs at an average of 39.3. 

Brian Lara (West Indies legends)

Brian Lara is the greatest run-scorer of Test cricket history. He has scored 11,953 runs in Test cricket. Lara, for a long period of time, held the top position in batsman’s ranking. He is the owner of many records which is almost impossible to break. He has a record for the highest individual runs in Test cricket 400* runs and in first-class cricket 501* runs. He played 131 test matches and scored 11,953 runs with 34 centuries. He also acquired 19 centuries in ODIs. He will be leading the West Indies legends squad in the upcoming edition of Road Safety World Series.

Jonty Rhodes (South Africa legends)

Jonty Rhodes, born July 27, 1969, is a one-in-a-million sportsman — an outright phenomenon. His athleticism and dedication towards the game has inspired millions of cricketers, young and old, to try and emulate him, which is next to an impossible task.

The charismatic Rhodes will once again be seen in action, leading the South Africa legends in the upcoming Road Safety World Series 2021.
Yuvraj Singh (India legends)
Undoubtedly one of the biggest match-winners ever produced by Indian Cricket, Yuvraj Singh hung his boots in 2019 in a controversial retirement. India won two ICC World Cups, and Yuvi played a major role in the triumph and was even named Man of the Series in the 2011 World Cup.

His six 6s against Stuart Broad in 2007 T20 World Cup serves as a testament to Yuvraj’s immense brute and prowess. The left-handed all-rounder from Punjab proved that he was not only a lion on the field but was also a cricket great one off the field. It will once again be a thrilling experience to watch Yuvraj when he takes the pitch for Road Safety World Series 2021.

Here are the full squads of the Road Safety World Series:

Sri Lanka Legends: Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Russel Arnold, Ajantha Mendis, Farveez Maharoof, Sanath Jayasuriya, Manjula Prasad, Malinda Warnapura, Dammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Chamara Kapugedra, Tillakratne Dilshan, Dulanjana Wijesinghe.

Bangladesh Legends: Khaled Mahmud, Mohammed Sharif, Mushfiqur Rahman, A N M Mamun Ur Rashed, Nafees Iqbal, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Khaled Mashud, Hannan Sarker, Javed Omar, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Aftab Ahmed, Alamgir Kabir.

India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Naman Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Noel David, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Manpreet Gony.

South Africa Legends: Morne Van Wyk, Alviro Petersen, Nicky Boje, Andrew Puttick, Thandi Tshabalala, Loots Bosman, Llyod Norris Jones, Zander de Bruyn, Monde Zondeki, Garnett Kruger, Roger Telemachus, Jonty Rhodes, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Kemp.

West Indies Legends: Brian Lara, Dinanath Ramnarine, Adam Sanford, Carl Hooper, Dwayne Smith, Ryan Austin, William Perkins, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Pedro Collins, Ridley Jacobs, Narsingh Deonarine, Tino Best, Sulieman Benn.

England Legends: Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Philip Mustard, Monty Panesar, Nick Compton, Kabir Ali, Usman Afzaal, Matthew Hoggard, James Tindall, Chris Tremlett, Sajid Mahmood, James Tredwell, Chris Schoefield, Johnathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom.

Share This: