PUBG Mobile Global Championship: PMGC final in trouble? 3 players test COVID-19 positive

PMGC 2020: Thee players test positive for coronavirus ahead of PMGC finals

The PMGC Finals is scheduled to start from today, January 21, 2021, live from Dubai. The teams would play in a closed stadium. However, bad news is coming in from the camps as three players tested positive for Covid-19. PUBG Mobile made an announcement regarding the whole situation and said the players are under self-quarantine, along with people who have come in contact with them, and tests are being regularly administered on them.

PUBG Mobile’s Director Global Esports, James Yang, addressed a press conference today said that all teams will now play in isolation on a set network instead of playing from the venue. PUBG Mobile officials  have taken plan B into action so that no one else gets affected with the virus. The players’ identity or their team names have not been revealed. PUBG Mobile Global Championship was supposed to take place at the Coca Cola Arena, Dubai, UAE, without the presence of a crowd, but was supposed to be a LAN event. 

Yang added that PUBG Mobile wants to nurture an environment of safety and the health and safety of the players and the staff members is their top priority. He also added that the players and staff members get tested multiple times. 

The officials also said that the players are being provided with the necessary support, including medical assistance from health facilities. They also stressed upon the fact that the teams will be taken care of till the time the players don’t fully recover. 

This is the schedule for the four-day grand finals of PMGC:

Teams qualified for PMGC 2020 Grand Finals

  1. Four Angry Men (China)
  2. Bigetron RA (Indonesia)
  3. RRQ Athena (Thailand)
  4. Konina Power (CIS/ Kazakhstan)
  5. Klas Digital Athletics (Turkey)
  6. Secret Jin (Thailand)
  7. Futbolist (Turkey)
  8. Nova XQF (China)
  9. Power888 KPS (Thailand)
  10. Abrupt Slayers (Nepal)
  11. Alpha 7 Esports (Brazil)
  12. Z3US Esports (Mongolia)
  13. Natus Vincere (Ukraine/Russia)
  14. Aerowolf Limax (Indonesia)
  15. Team Secret (Malaysia)
  16. A1 Esports (Bangladesh