PSL 2021 – MUL vs KAR: Babar Azam’s knock goes in vain as Multan Sultans beat Karachi Kings by 12 runs

PSL 2021 – MUL vs KAR: Babar Azam’s knock goes in vain as Multan Sultans beat Karachi Kings by 12 runs – Karachi Kings premier batsman Babar Azam’s 85 runs knock goes in vain as Multan Sultans beat Karachi Kings by 12 runs in match number 16 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. Karachi Kings were chasing 177 in the second innings but ended up scoring 164 in 20 overs.

Chasing a competitive total Sharjeel Khan and Babar Azam gave Karachi a slow start. Khan was removed by Imran Khan’s brilliant effort in the field while Martin Guptil was sent back by Imran Tahir in the 10th over of the innings when the score was 57 for the loss of two wickets. Tahir in his next over removed Najibullah Zadran on 11.

Azam and Chadwick Walton then build a partnership to help Karachi get close to the target but fell short by 12 runs in the end.

Babar played an outstanding knock of 85 runs in 63 balls with the help of five fours and four sixes. Walton also played an innings of 35 runs from 23 balls before getting run out.

For Multan Imran Khan and Imran Tahir were the pick of the bowlers taking three and two wickets respectively.

MUL vs KAR: First Innings

Multan Sultan’s batsmen Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah helped hosts reach 176/5 in 20 overs in match number 16 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. MUL captain Mohammad Rizwan also played a useful innings at the start to help his side get a smooth opening.

MUL vs KAR:  Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim opted to field first after winning the toss. Wasim removed Rahmanullah Gurbaz in the very first over by taking a review for the LBW. Sohaib Maqsood who used powerplay to score 31 runs in just 14 balls was sent back by Waqas Maqsood. After that Rilee Rossouw and Rizwan build a partnership and took the sides’ score past 100. However, in one over of Thisara Perera, the game changed on its head as MUL lost two wickets.

MUL vs KAR: In the end, Khushdil Shah gave hosts much needed finishing touch. For the Karachi Kings, Thisara Perera took two wickets while Waqas Maqsood and Imad Wasim picked one each.

Karachi Kings Innings 164/7 (20 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Sharjeel Khan runout (Imran Khan) 4 6 0 0 66.67
Babar Azam Not out 85 63 5 4 134.92
Martin Guptill b Imran Tahir 11 16 1 0 68.75
Najibullah Zadran lbw b Imran Tahir 11 6 0 1 183.33
Chadwick Walton (WK) runout (Sohail Khan / Imran Tahir) 35 23 4 1 152.17
Thisara Perera c Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Imran Khan 0 2 0 0 0.00
Imad Wasim (C) c Mohammad Rizwan b Imran Khan 0 1 0 0 0.00
Qasim Akram c Sohaib Maqsood b Imran Khan 10 3 1 1 333.33
Extra 8 (b 0, w 6, nb 0, lb 2)
Total 164/7 (20)
Yet To Bat M AmirArshad IqbalWaqas Maqsood
Sohail Khan 4 0 33 0 8.25
Sohail Tanvir 4 0 28 0 7.00
Imran Khan 4 0 28 3 7.00
Shahnawaz Dhani 4 0 46 0 11.50
Imran Tahir 4 0 27 2 6.75
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Sharjeel Khan 1-14 3.5
MJ Guptill 2-57 9.2
Najibullah Zadran 3-77 11.3
CAK Walton 4-153 18.6
T Perera 5-154 19.2
IM Wasim 6-154 19.3
Qasim Akram 7-164 19.6
Multan Sultans Innings 176/5 (20 ov)
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Rahmanullah Gurbaz st CAK Walton b IM Wasim 3 4 0 0 75.00
Mohammad Rizwan (WK/C) runout (CAK Walton / Najibullah Zadran) 29 23 2 1 126.09
Sohaib Maqsood b Waqas Maqsood 31 14 5 1 221.43
Rilee Rossouw c Babar Azam b T Perera 44 24 7 0 183.33
Shimron Hetmyer c Waqas Maqsood b T Perera 7 9 0 0 77.78
Khushdil Shah Not out 44 32 3 2 137.50
Sohail Tanvir Not out 14 14 1 0 100.00
Extra 4 (b 0, w 3, nb 0, lb 1)
Total 176/5 (20)
Yet To Bat Imran TahirShahnawaz DhaniSohail KhanImran Khan
Imad Wasim 3 0 34 1 11.33
Mohammad Amir 4 0 42 0 10.50
Waqas Maqsood 4 0 33 1 8.25
Arshad Iqbal 2 0 20 0 10.00
Qasim Akram 4 0 34 0 8.50
Thisara Perera 3 0 12 2 4.00
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Rahmanullah Gurbaz 1-4 0.6
Sohaib Maqsood 2-40 3.6
RR Rossouw 3-108 10.3
Mohammad Rizwan 4-109 10.5
Shimron Hetmyer 5-128 14.4


Karachi Kings won the toss and opted to field first against Multan Sultans in match number 16 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. It has been phenomena in PSL to win the toss and field first as chasing teams have won most of the matches in the first phase.


Karachi Kings (Playing XI): Babar Azam, Sharjeel Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Thisara Perera, Martin Guptill, Chadwick Walton(w), Imad Wasim(c), Qasim Akram, Waqas Maqsood, Mohammad Amir, Arshad Iqbal

Multan Sultans (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w/c), Sohaib Maqsood, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shimron Hetmyer, Khushdil Shah, Sohail Tanvir, Sohail Khan, Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dhani, Imran Khan


After a cracking start to Phase 2 of PSL yesterday, yet another thrilling clash is expected to be on the cards when Multan Sultans will lock horns with Karachi Kings in the match number 16 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi in the evening.

Multan Sultans are languishing at the bottom of the points table having lost four out of their five encounters so far and will be looking to resurrect their campaign. However, it won’t be easy against Karachi Kings who are sitting atop the points table with three wins and two defeats in five outings.

Featuring Babar Azam, Martin Guptill, Sharjeel Khan along with the inclusion of Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera, Kings will start as favorites tonight.

*Please follow our Telegram Channel to get updated Dream11 teams

MUL vs KAR Today Match Prediction Details

Multan Sultans vs Karachi Kings, Match 16

Pakistan Super League 2021

Date – 10 June 2021

Time: 06:30 PM IST

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

For live scores, ball by ball commentary, and full scorecard, click here.

MUL vs KAR Team News and Probable Playing 11

MUL Team News

  • Mohammad Rizwan will lead the side and keep the wicket
  • Sultans will miss the services of J Vince, Chris Lynn, Shahid Afridi, and C Brathwaite
  • Shimron Hetmyer and Rahmanullah Gurbaz will strengthen the batting
  • Shahnawaz Dhani will lead the attack along with Sohail Tanvir and Blessing Muzarabani

MUL Playing 11

Sohaib Maqsood, Shahnawaz Dhani, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Sohail Tanvir, Blessing Muzarabani, Usman Qadir, Shimron Hetmyer, Imran Tahir

Also Read: IPL 2021: वेस्टइंडीज क्रिकेटर्स के खेलने को लेकर चिंतित फ्रेंचाइजी, CPL शेड्यूल के बदलाव में मांग को लेकर हुई देरी

KAR Team News

  • Babar Azam will lead the side
  • Chadwick Walton will keep the wicket
  • Kings will miss the services of Mohammad Nabi, Daniel Christian, Colin Ingram, and Joe Clarke

KAR Playing 11

Najibullah-Zadran, Arshad Iqbal, Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Danish Aziz, Thisara Perera, Chadwick Walton, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Martin Guptill, Waqas Maqsood


MUL vs KAR Dream11 Prediction/Fantasy Team


BATSMEN: M Guptill, S Hetmyer, B Azam, S Khan, S Maqsood


BOWLERS: I Khan, S Dhani, W Maqsood, Arshad Iqbal

*Please follow our Telegram Channel to get updated Dream11 teams


MUL vs KAR live streaming: How to watch MUL vs KAR live scores?

The match will not be shown on TV for the cricket audience in India. Fans can catch the MUL vs KAR LIVE Streaming on FanCode. For MUL vs KAR live scores, ball by ball commentary, and full scorecard, click here.


PSL/Super League T20, MUL vs KAR squads

Multan Sultans

Shahnawaz Dhani, Mohammad Umar, Rilee Rossouw, Shimron Hetmyer, Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c), Obed McCoy, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Hammad Azam, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Snr, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir, Muhammad Waseem

Also Read: WI vs SA 1st Test LIVE: How to watch West Indies v South Africa LIVE Streaming in your country, India

Karachi Kings

Imad Wasim, Danish Aziz, Martin Guptill, Qasim Akram, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Haris, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Ilyas, Abbas Afridi, Amir Yamin, Chadwick Walton, Najeebullah Zadran, Arshad Iqbal, Babar Azam, Noor Ahmed, Waqas Maqsood, Zeeshan Malik