PSL 2021: Mohammad Rizwan replaces Masood as skipper of Multan Sultans

Pic credits: @multansultans/Instagram

PSL 2021:With just five days to go for the Pakistan Super League, Multan Sultans have named Mohammad Rizwan as their new skipper going into the tournament. In a statement released on Twitter, Multan Sultans said, “The Multan Sultans management is pleased to appoint Mohammad Rizwan as the Captain of the franchise for HBL PSL6.”

The surprising move came even as Multan Sultans secured their playoff berth under Shan Masood last season.


“I look forward to leading the Multan Sultans team for the upcoming season. I have understood the innovative approach the franchise applied last season and am looking forward to playing my part this year,” the wicket-keeper batsman said in the official release.


Rizwan recently slammed a hundred against South Africa in the ongoing T20 series. The 28-year-old has done well for Pakistan, playing ahead of former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmad.


“Multan Sultans had a successful HBL PSL 5 and we will aspire to go even better this time around especially with senior Pakistani players like Shahid Khan Afridi, Shan Masood and Soahail Tanvir,” added Rizwan who moved from Karachi Kings to Multan Sultans this season.


Franchise owner Alamgir Khan said,” Mohammad Rizwan has shown exemplary leadership qualities with the Pakistan team as well as with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the Domestic tournaments.”


Multan Sultans is yet to win a title in the PSL history. The upcoming edition of the PSL will commence February 20.


Squad: Shahid Afridi, Imran Tahir, James Vince, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir, Chris Lynn, Sohail Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Carlos Brathwaite, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaib Ullah, Adam Lyth, Shahnawaz Dhani, Muhammad Umar, Imran Khan Sr

The upcoming sixth edition of the tournament will see the return of fans in the stadium as 20 per cent of crowd capacity was allowed for the PSL 2021.

The tournament opener between defending champions Karachi Kings and 2019 winners Quetta Gladiators will be played at the National Stadium on February 20.