Prannoy gets best PBL deal; INR 52 lakh for No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying

Prannoy gets best PBL deal; INR 52 lakh for No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying- InsideSport

HS Prannoy has got the best deal at the Premier Badminton League auction in Hyderabad on Monday. India’s second best men’s singles player on current rankings bagged a deal of INR 62 lakh from Ahmedabad Shuttle Masters, who also got on board world No. 1 women’s singles player Tai Tzu Ying for a successful bid of INR 52 lakh.

As franchisees had a right to retain the players of their choice from the previous season, PV Sindhu (Chennai Smashers), Sikki Reddy (Bengaluru Blasters), Saina Nehwal (Awadhe Warriors), Satwik Sairaj (Hyderabad Hunters), Lee Yong Dae (Mumbai Rockets), Vladimir Ivanov (Delhi Acers) will continue to stay with their respective teams.

Awadhe Warriors further fortified their citadel as they used the “right to match card” before the player went under the hammer to bag the services of giant killer and India No. 1 Srikanth Kidambi once again. The deal makes Awadhe Warriors and Ahmedabad Shuttle Masters form best singles combination.

Each Franchisee at its disposal had a purse of INR 2.12 crore to spend on player acquisition, with a top cap of INR 71 lakh for a single player. This is how the teams have invested on forming their best combination for the INR 6 crore winner’s purse.

Ahmedabad Smash Masters:
Kamilla Rytter Juhl for INR 35 lakh
Hong Kong’s Lee Reginald for INR 32 lakh.
Law Cheuk Him for INR 18 lakh
Kidambi Nandagopal for his base price of INR 1 Lakh
Sourabh Verma for INR 13 lakh

Awadhe Warriors:
Danish doubles specialist Christinna Pedersen for INR 42 lakh.
Ashwini Ponnappa for INR 20 Lakh.
Hong Kong’s Chin Chung for INR 8 lakh
Hong Kong’s Tang Chun Man for INR . 10 Lakh respectively.
Parupalli Kashyap for INR 20 lakh.
Wong Wing Ki Vincent for INR 25 lakh

Bengaluru Blasters:
World Champion Viktor Axelsen regained for INR 50 lakh.
Doubles players K Maneesha for INR 5 lakh.
Manu Atri for INR 17 lakh
Mathias Boe for INR 41 Lakh.
Kim Sa Rang for INR 49 Lakh.
Harsheel Dani for INR 4 Lakh.

Chennai Smashers:
Gabby Adcock regained for INR 48 lakh.
Chris Adcock joins his wife Gabby at Chennai for INR 54 Lakh.
Brice Leverdez for INR 18 Lakh.
S Tanongsak for INR 25 Lakh.

Delhi Acers:
China’s Tian Houwei for INR 58 lakh
South Korea’s Sung Ji Hyun for INR 50 lakh.
Young doubles shuttler Aarthi Sara Sunil for INR 3 Lakh.
Ivan Sozonov for INR 18 lakh (Used Right to Match on Chennai’s biggest bid).
Pranaav Jerry Chopra for INR 18 Lakh.
Shreyanshi Pardeshi for INR 1 Lakh.

Hyderabad Hunters:
Carolina Marin for INR 50. She stays with her old team.
Indonesian doubles specialist Pia Zebadiah for INR 14 lakh.
Kamilla Rytter Juhl for INR 35 Lakh.
Yoo Yeon Seong for INR 53 lakh.
Sai Praneeth for INR 40 lakh (Right to match from Bengaluru Blasters)

Mumbai Rockets:
World No. 2 Son Wan Ho for INR 50 lakh.
Bulgaria’s Gabriela Stoeva for Rs. 20 Lakh.
Beiwen Zhang for INR 33 lakh

North Eastern Warrior:
South Korea’s doubles specialist Shin Baek Cheoul for INR 55 Lakh.
Tzu Wei Wang for INR 52 lakh.
Doubles ace Prajakta Sawant for Rs. 7 Lakh.
Doubles specialist Chirag Shetty for Rs. 5 Lakh
Ruthvika Shivani Gadde for INR 9 lakh
Ajay Jayaram for INR 44 Lakh.