Odisha FC 2-2 Mumbai City FC: Goal towards end secures a point for Islanders

Jerry Mawihmingthanga & Roy Krishna’s goals cancelled out by Rostyn Griffiths & Jorge Pereyra Diaz

Mumbai City FC vs Odisha FC

Mumbai City FC vs Odisha FC turned out to be a thriller. Both teams had won their ISL openers and were looking to maintain their winning run. However, in a match full of twists and turns, Mumbai City FC came from behind twice at the Kalinga Stadium. Des Buckingham’s men got hold of a late equaliser to finish the match 2-2.

Odisha started the game on a positive note, with Sergio Lobera’s team trying to play out from the back. Odisha FC midfielder Jerry Mawihmingthanga looked lively from the start, putting in crosses from the right. However, his crosses were unable to find any Odisha FC player, resulting in a stalemate till the 45th minute.

A bad error by Mumbai City FC goalkeeper Mohammad Nawaz handed opportunistic Jerry with one of the most simple finishes.

Odisha FC headed into the break with a lead. Yet Mumbai FC restored parity almost as soon as 2nd half started.

A corner for the Juggernauts in the 47th minute was met by defender Rostyn Griffiths. Griffiths arrived late in the box and headed home.

Roy Krishna once again turned the tie in favour of the Juggernauts when earned a penalty and converted it in the 75th minute. The Fiji striker was brought down by Odisha FC goalkeeper. Roy kept calm under pressure and converted the spot kick.

Just when it looked like Odisha FC might run away with the three points at stake, the Islanders struck on the brink of 90 minutes.

Vikram Partap’s cross was met by Jorge Pereyra Diaz who timed his run to perfection. Although Diaz didn’t connect with the ball cleanly, it was enough for the Argentine as the ball rippled the net.

Also Read

Barcelona could receive over €3 million from FIFA as compensation for Gavi

Check ISL 2023-24 Points Table

‘Ideally you want 40 academies’ Arsene Wenger lays down roadmap for AIFF

Both teams had the chance to go on top of ISL table. They needed to win the tie with a favourable goal difference. But courtesy of the draw, Mumbai City FC and Odisha FC remained in 2nd and 3rd positions of the ISL table respectively.

Odisha FC vs Mumbai City FC Line-Up

Odisha FC: Amrinder Singh, Amey Ranawade, Mourtada Fall, Carlos Delgado, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Puitea, Ahmed Jahouh, Lenny Rodrigues, Jerry Mawihmingthanga, Isak Vanlalruatfela, Diego Mauricio

Mumbai City FC: Mohammad Nawaz, Rahul Bheke, Rostyn Griffiths, Tiri, Akash Mishra, Apuia, Vinit Rai, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Greg Stewart, Bipin Singh, Jorge Pereyra Diaz

Share This: