West Indies vs New Zealand : Romario Shepherd to replace injured Dwayne Bravo in WI squad for New Zealand tour

Romario Shepherd will replace injured Dwayne Bravo in the T20I squad for their upcoming tour to New Zealand, the Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced on Wednesday (local time).
Bravo has been ruled out of the upcoming tour due to a groin injury. The 37-year-old all-rounder had sustained the injury on October 17 whilst playing for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL).
“I was really looking forward to the tour of New Zealand as it has been so many months since I last wore maroon in Sri Lanka back in March and we are all so excited about building towards defending our T20 World Cup next year,” said Bravo in an official statement.
“Unfortunately, the injury I sustained on Saturday playing for CSK has not only ruled me out of the IPL but also the tour. I’m making arrangements to return to Trinidad over the next few days where I will continue my rehab and treatment. I’m fully committed to representing the West Indies and I just need to get myself stronger again,” the star all-rounder added.
Shepherd, who will be replacing Bravo, had made his international debut last year against Afghanistan and received his cap from Bravo himself
The 25-year-old all-rounder has so far played five One-Day Internationals and two T20 Internationals (T20Is).
“This is a great opportunity for me, and I want to take it with both hands. I was in the team before, last year, and earlier this year, so I have a good feel of the game at this level. I’ve been training hard and working at all areas of my game so I’m ready,” said Shepherd.
Test Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren
Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach
Test Reserves: Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales
T20I Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Romario Shepherd, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.