Mini IPL Before IPL 2021 : Top IPL stars to play Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 starting from 10th Jan

Mini IPL before IPL 2021- Big IPL stars to play in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy: Disney Hotstar to Live Stream the tournament – The upcoming edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy is set to begin on Sunday, sparking a wave of excitement amongst fans from all corners of India and it can be considered mini IPL before IPL 2021. The tournament assumes importance as first of all first domestic event post-Covid-19 and secondly big IPL stars presence in the tournament will make it a mini-IPL before IPL 2021.

The tournament’s significance will further increase as IPL 2021 mini-auction will be slated right after the tournament. Along with the players and fans, IPL franchises will also keep a close eye on players doing well in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy. The big performers in the tournament can be handed IPL contracts by IPL franchises.

On the other hand, many big names will feature in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy this time. Reason, this is the only tournament from which they hope to get some good practice ahead of IPL 2021. Here are some of the big names taking part in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy.

  • Dinesh Karthik (KKR)
  • Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai Indians)
  • Suresh Raina (CSK)
  • Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals)
  • Robin Uthappa (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Ambati Rayudu (CSK)
  • Vijay Shankar (Sunrisers)
  • Ishant Sharma (Delhi Capitals)
  • Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians)
  • Nitish Rana (KKR)
  • Shivam Dube (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • Tushar Deshpande (Delhi Capitals)
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)
  • Jaydev Unadkat (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Varun Aaron (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Riyan Parag (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Sarfaraz Khan (KingsXI)
  • Krunal Pandya (MI)
  • Deepak Hooda (KXIP)

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy Schedule, groupings and venue

2020–21 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is scheduled to start on 10 January 2021, with the final on 31 January 2021. Karnataka are the defending champions. Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Indore, Mumbai and Chennai have been chosen as the six venues which will stage the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy in a bio-secure bubble.

The Groupings:

Elite A: Venue Bangalore
Teams: Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Railways and Tripura.
Elite B: Venue Kolkata
Teams: Odisha, Bengal, Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Hyderabad.
Elite C: Venue Vadodara
Teams: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda and Uttarakhand.
Elite D: Venue Indore
Teams: Services, Saurashtra, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Goa.
Elite E: Venue Mumbai
Teams: Haryana, Andhra, Delhi, Mumbai, Kerala and Puducherry.
Plate: Venue Chennai
Teams: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh.

MS Dhoni won’t play in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy

As per reports, former India captain MS Dhoni won’t come out of retirement to play in the forthcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021. his means like IPL 2020 – Dhoni will enter IPL 2021 as well without any match practice.

Suresh Raina to play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

Meanwhile, unlike Dhoni, his former CSK teammate Suresh Raina has decided to come out of the retirement and play Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021. Raina, who missed IPL 2020 due to personal reasons, announced on social media last week that he will be playing representing Uttar Pradesh in the tournament.

Notably, Raina hasn’t played competitive cricket for the past one year but he has been training hard in the gym and keeping himself fit for the upcoming domestic season in India.

How many teams are in action and what will be format?

There are 38 teams in action, and they have been divided into six groups: five elite and one plate. The elite groups have six teams each, while eight new teams – barring Puducherry – form the plate group. This is slightly different to 2019-20, where the 38 teams were mixed across five groups.

Will the plate sides play more games in the group stage then?

No, all teams, irrespective of groups, will play five matches in the league phase.

What time will the Syed Mushtaq Ali 2021 matches be played?

The first set of matches will begin at 12:00 pm. The evening matches will start from 7:00 pm.

Which Syed Mushtaq Ali 2021 matches will be broadcasted and live streamed?

All Group E and Group B matches which will be happening in Mumbai and Kolkata respectively will be broadcast across Star Sports Network. The knockout matches and the final will also be broadcast through the network.

Other than this, Disney+ Hotstar will Live Stream the matches of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20