Laureus Awards return to Monaco with 2019 edition

Laureus Sports Awards,Laureus Awards in Monaco,Monaco Laureus Awards,Sports awards,Sport’s premier global awards ceremony

The prestigious Laureus Sports awards will be back to Monaco for the 19th edition next year.

The Laureus World Sports Awards 2019 are slated to take place at Monaco on Monday 18 February 2019. The cream of global sport – past, present and future – will gather to honour the greatest sporting achievements of 2018 and celebrate the power of sport to change the world.

Sport’s premier global awards ceremony will celebrate the best of 2018 across eight individual and team categories, with the winners collecting a prized Laureus Statuette.

In addition to celebrating sporting excellence, the Awards provide a global platform for supporting the Laureus Sport for Good movement, by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives around the world, states a Media release.

At the inaugural Laureus World Sports Awards in 2000, Nelson Mandela had declared that, “Sport has the power to change the world”.

Also Read: Sports Sponsorship: Qatar Airways keen to replace Emirates on PSG shirt

Since that moment, thanks to the support of its partners, Academy Members and Ambassadors, Laureus Sport for Good now supports over 150 projects in more than 40 countries, helping to change young lives for the better. Each year, one example of this work is recognised, through the prestigious Laureus Sport for Good Award.

Sports fans around the world also get to play their part by voting for the Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year Award, which highlights the power of sport to inspire change and bring people together.

Considered the ‘Oscars of sports’, the Laureus World Sports Awards celebrate global sporting achievements across the calendar year, adds PTI.

The nominations to honour the sporting achievements of 2018 will start later this month. Former India cricket captains Kapil Dev, Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar are members of the Laureus Academy, which also has big sporting names like Boris Becker, Martina Navratilova, Sergey Bubka, Luis Figo, Michael Johnson, Sebastian Coe, Vivian Richards, Ian Botham, Steve Waugh among others.

Last year, tennis great Roger Federer won the Laureus Sportsman of the Year award for a record fifth time, while Serena Williams won the Sportswoman of the Year recognition for the fourth time

Also Read: Sports Business : Manchester United shares suffer 30% hit at NYSE