Lanka Premier League: 2nd edition of LPL to kick start on July 30- check full schedule

LPL 2021: Lanka Premier League Season 2 postponed to Sep, likely to clash with IPL 2021 Phase 2 with host of stars like Andre Russell missing

Lanka Premier League: 2nd edition of LPL to kick start on July 30- check full schedule – Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to reiterate that the 2nd edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be held during July and August 2021, as earlier announced. Accordingly, the tournament will be held from 30th July to 22nd August 2021.

LPL 2021: The inaugural edition of the LPL, Sri Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 league, with an international flavour, was conducted last year at the MRICS, Hambantota, with the participation of 05 teams.

The inaugural edition received wide-scale attention, and millions of fans from across the world viewed the tournament via Television and, Digital platforms, with 135 million viewers watching the finals. The 2020 edition was held under a successful Bio-Bubble environment

LPL 2021:Health protocols for the 2nd edition of the LPL will be, planned based on the directions of the Ministry of Health.

ALSO READ IN HINDI: ICC Player of the Month: हसन अली, प्रवीण जयविक्रम और मुशफिकुर रहीम आईसीसी के मासिक पुरस्कारों की दौड़ में

LPL without star cricketers

The window that the SLC has chosen coincides with ECB’s newest project The Hundred, a 100-ball cricket tournament that will be played from July 21 to August 21 with stars like Andre Russell, Mohammad Amir taking part.

LPL 2021: It has put franchises in a precarious position, especially Colombo Kings, who are set to miss as many as four foreign players including Andre Russell, Daniel Bell-Drummond, and Laurie Evans. Jaffna Stallions will miss Tom Moores while Galle Gladiators will be without Mohammad Amir, who will play in The Hundred. Dambulla Vikings and Kandy Tuskers will miss one player each.

ALSO READ: ICC Ultimate Test Series: 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy between Ind vs Aus voted Ultimate Test series in World Test Championship

Overseas players who are set to miss LPL 2021

Colombo Kings: Daniel Bell-Drummond (Birmingham Phoenix), Laurie Evans (Oval Invincibles), Andre Russell (Southern Brave), Qais Ahmad (Welsh Fire).

Kandy Tuskers: Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe tour of Ireland)

Jaffna Stallions: Tom Moores (Trent Rockets),

Galle Gladiators: Mohammad Amir (London Spirit)

Dambulla Vikings: Samit Patel (Trent Rockets)

Also Read: India Tour of Sri Lanka: Covid-19 cases increasing in Sri Lanka, SLC worried about India tour

-Inputs from SLC website