Kohli to lead India in test series against Windies, Dhawan dropped from squad

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah,paytm test series team squad,Virat Kohli india west indies tests,india windies tests series,india west indies tests series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squad for the upcoming Paytm Test series against West Indies picked up by All-India Senior Selection Committee of the board.

Virat Kohli, whose selection was doubtful because of a minor wrist injury, will lead the Indian Team for the two test series against Windies.

Shikhar Dhawan has been dropped from the squad after his lacklustre performance in England where he could manage just 162 runs in 8 outings during the five match test series. Dhawan was crowned the man of the series in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2018 in UAE.

Mayank Aggarwal and Mohammed Siraj got their maiden International test ticket following their recent domestic exploits. Mayank was the top scorer in the last Ranji Trophy season with 1160 runs in 8 matches.

The selectors have decided to rest the duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah to ease off with their workload. “Taking stock of the recent workload, the selectors have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar,” BCCI Acting Secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a statement.

Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya have also been excluded from the squad as they are yet to recover from their injuries. Pandya had to be stretchered off the field after severing an acute lower back injury during India’s game against Pakistan at the Asia Cup.

The first Test will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot from October 4-8, 2018 followed by the second Test at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad from October 12-16, 2018.

Indian team for the Windies Tests: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

Also Read: Kohli doubtful for West-Indies series, Bhuvi-Bumrah to be rested