Kohli, Rohit consolidate atop ICC ODI rankings

Virat Kohli,Rohit Sharma,ICC ODI rankings,Shai Hope,Sports Business News India

Team India skipper Virat Kohli and his deputy Rohit Sharma have consolidated their respective positions as the N0. 1 and 2 batsmen in the International Cricket Council’s One Day International rankings.

West Indies opener Shai Hope with his consistent showing during the series in India has also entered the top 10 of ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings after showing fine form in the three-match series that ended on Sunday.

The wicketkeeper-batsman has gained five places to reach ninth position after scoring 222 runs in the series including an unbeaten 102 in the opening match in Chennai, which his side won before going down in Visakhapatnam and Cuttack.

Also moving up in the batting rankings are his teammates Shimron Hetmyer (up six places to 19th) and Nicholas Pooran (up 33 places to 30th). Fast bowlers Sheldon Cottrell (up six places to 30th) and Keemo Paul (up 35 places to 104th) have also gained in the latest rankings update.

Also Read: Virat Kohli to bat as Vivo brand ambassador in IPL 2020 campaigns?

Kohli and Rohit continue to occupy the top two positions while Lokesh Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have made notable gains. Rahul’s 185 runs in the series have lifted him 17 places to 71st place while Iyer’s 130-run aggregate sees him move from 104th to 81st.

ICC ODI Rankings:

Batsmen (top 10): 1. Virat Kohli (Ind 887 pts); 2. Rohit Sharma (Ind 873); 3. Babar Azam (Pak 834); 4. Faf du Plessis (SA 820); 5. Ross Taylor (NZ 817); 6. K Williamson (NZ 796); 7. David Warner (Aus 794); 8. Joe Root (Eng 787); 9. Shai Hope (WI 782); and 10. Q de Kock (SA 781).

Bowlers (top 10): 1. J Bumrah (Ind 785); 2. Trent Boult (NZ 740); 3. M Ur Rahman (Ban 707); 4. Kagiso Rabada (SA 694); 5. Pat Cummins (Aus 693); 6. Chris Woakes (Eng 676); 7. M Amir (Pak 663) and Mitchell Starc (Aus 663); 9. Matt Henry (NZ 656) and 10. L Ferguson (NZ 649).

All-rounders (top five): 1. Ben Stokes (Eng 319); 2. M Nabi (Afg 307); 3. Imad Wasim (Pak 295); 4. Chris Woakes (Eng 267); 5. Rashid Khan (Afg 263).

Also Read: MPL rolls out unique video campaign with Virat Kohli