Kohli back among top 10 batsmen in ICC T20 ratings

India opener Lokesh Rahul and captain Virat Kohli have made significant progress in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings after producing two superb knocks each in the three-match home series against the West Indies which they won 2-1.

Rahul’s scores of 62 and 91 in the first and third T20Is have lifted him three places to sixth position while Kohli’s unbeaten knocks of 94 and 70 in those two matches have taken him back into the 10 as he has gained five positions from his pre-series 15th place. Rohit Sharma is the third Indian in the top 10, in ninth position.

Kohli, who was named player of the series after finishing with an aggregate of 183 runs, is now in the top 10 in all three formats, occupying top position in the Test and ODI rankings.

Other Indian players to gain in the latest rankings update include left-hander Rishabh Pant (up 15 places to 74th) among batsmen and Washington Sundar (up 19 places to 14th) and Deepak Chahar (up 22 places to 21st) among bowlers.

For the West Indies, Kieron Pollard has moved from 106th to 79th position with 105 runs in the series including a fighting 68 in the final match in Mumbai while Nicholas Pooran is up from 96th to 83rd.  Shimron Hetmyer’s 120-run aggregate sees him gain 100 slots and reach 104th position.

In the bowlers’ list, Sheldon Cottrell has gained eight slots to reach 12th place while Jason Holder is up from 82nd to 71st.

MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (as of 12 December 2019):

 Batsmen (top 10): 1. Babar Azam (Pak 879); 2. Aaron Finch (Aus 810); 3. Dawid Malan (Eng 782); 4. Colin Munro (NZ 780); 5. Glenn Maxwell (Aus 766); 6. Lokesh Rahul (Ind 734); 7. Evin Lewis (WI 699); 8. H Zazai (Afg 692); 9. Rohit Sharma (Ind 686) and 10. Virat Kohli (Ind 686).

Bowlers (top 10): 1.  Rashid Khan (Afg 749); 2. M Ur Rahman (Afg 742); 3. M Santner (NZ 698);  4. Imad Wasim (Pak 681); 5. Adam Zampa (Aus 674); 6. A Phelukwayo (SA 665); 7. Adil Rashid (Eng 660); 8. Shadab Khan (Pak 657); 9. Ashton Agar (Aus 649); and 10. Chris Jordan (Eng 640).