ISL 2021-22: SC East Bengal sign Dutch utility player Darren Sidoel

ISL 2021-22: SC East Bengal sign Dutch utility player Darren Sidoel- SC East Bengal on Friday bolstered their ranks with the acquisition of young Dutch defensive midfielder Darren Sidoel on a one year deal that will keep him at the club till the end of 2021-22 ISL season.

Sidoel, who has played under SC East Bengal head coach Manuel ‘Manolo’ Diaz at Spanish side Hércules CF, becomes the Spaniard’s fifth foreign signing.

 Slovenian midfielder Amir Derviševic, Australian defender Tomislav Mrcela, Croatian centre-back Franjo Prce and Nigerian striker Daniel Chima Chukwu are the other four overseas recruits so far.

The 23-year-old Sidoel joins SC East Bengal from Spanish second division club Córdoba CF, having spent last season on loan at Hércules under the tutelage of Diaz. Sidoel can also play at centre-back and central midfield positions with a willingness to move the ball higher up the pitch.

Also read: Burnley vs Arsenal LIVE in Premier League: Arteta tries to continue winning momentum as Arsenal face a tough match against Burnley, BUR vs ARS live streaming, follow for live updates

“SC East Bengal presents a new opportunity for me. I have played in a few European countries and picked up quite a lot. I am eager to learn and I believe I can develop playing in the Indian Super League,” Sidoel said.

“I have played under the coach (Manolo) before in Spain and that helps. We have a good understanding and I am looking forward to reuniting with him again.”

Part of the famed Ajax youth system, Sidoel made his debut in the second division of the Dutch league (Eerste Divisie) for Jong Ajax (reserve team of Ajax) in the 2017–18 season, helping them win the title. He also featured in the UEFA Youth League for Ajax II.

Head coach Diaz said “I am happy to have Darren in my plans again. He has age on his side and is hard working. He can play across the pitch and is a utility player. I have had a good chat with him and he is raring to go.”

Also read: IPL 2021 Full Schedule: Fixtures, Timing & Venue: 13 मैच दुबई, 10 शारजाह में होंगे आयोजित, देखें हर मैच की पूरी डिटेल